Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

A trip back home

On Wednesday night last week, I flew back to the UK to catch up with old friends, musical colleagues and family, and do a show in Great Yarmouth with BC SWEET, as part of a 70’s festival. Even though I’d allowed myself a couple of extra days, it was still a very hectic time!  It was great to see my son again – he’s now settled in at University in Huddersfield, Yorkshire, where he’s studying music production, and his band Jilambis have their new EP out, which is on sale HERE.

 

It was also nice to see Graham Oliver of Saxon, a long-time friend, with whom I’ve worked on several music projects, and who played me tracks from their forthcoming album, which sounds very tasty! Graham lives very near the old Yorkshire town of Conisboro’ which has given the world not only Saxon, but also singer Tony Christie and the larger-than-life Shakespearean actor, Brian Blessed, with whom both Graham and I have also appeared.  Conisboro’ Castle is a key location in the Walter Scott classic, “Ivanhoe”, and I managed to get a shot of it as I drove past. A real building, blurring the lines, as the novel does, between fact and fiction.

You can almost hear the clash of swords.....

I also caught up with my friend and musical colleague Stef, who played drums on several tracks on my BLUE ODYSSEY CD, and met up with Nick, brother of the great British vocalist Jess Roden, for the first time after a lengthy correspondence.

You can see some shots from the show by visiting moore:music HERE

Great Yarmouth, sits on the East coast of England at the mouth of the River Yare (as one might expect!) in the county of Norfolk, and the terrain is very reminiscent of Holland, being extremely flat. But that isn’t the only similarity it shares with our Dutch neighbours, as you can see from the photo:

.....and not a sign of Don Quixote.....

I spent the last few hours with my Dad in Derby before flying home. The sunshine giving me a chance to mess about with the camera in the garden, trying to photograph cobwebs and spiders, with varying degrees of success!

Although the sun did its best to keep shining, it was cold, and I was glad to return to sunnier climes on the Sunday, albeit with a bad dose of influenza!

Kev Moore

October 21, 2010 - Posted by | Ca' Puccini, Entertainment, family, friends, fun, Kev Moore's Music, Music, Parents and Children, photography, writing | , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Great Pictures. I have relatives here in Connecticut in a town called Derby. Maybe, given the curls and all, we really are related. Could your original name have possibly been: Cheverino Moorino?
    There’s those pesky spiders again.

    Comment by Pamela Allegretto Franz | October 21, 2010

  2. Great pics, Kev! I’m fascinated by spider webs. A teacher told me recently of an interesting project — she spraypaints a spider web, then presses some postboard covered in glue against it. I haven’t tried it yet.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 22, 2010

  3. Oh, I hope you’re feeling better soon!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 22, 2010

  4. Wow I dropped in and was so glad to read this post today. I have been missing home and was thinking about going there for a visit with mom and my brother and sister. Reading this was like an encrypted message to do so.

    I thoroughly enjoyed catching up with your travels, Kev, and so happy to see you with your son and learning he has a band and is studying music–like the old man.

    Cheers Mate

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | October 22, 2010

  5. Michael! How cool to see you here again. hope you’re well!

    Shelley – thanks! You can hear about whether I got better or not on my moore music blog! The spiderweb spraypaint idea sounds great. (Better not do it in my Dad’s garden though) 🙂

    Pam, if we’re not related, we probably should be. Is there some sort of co-adoption deal we could work out? I promise not to bring the spiders.

    Comment by kevmoore | October 26, 2010


Leave a Reply

