Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Gridlock in a Roundabout

We couldn’t miss a chance to get our photo with these beautiful lions in Trafalgar Square. They seemed much higher up once I climbed up there, though, and I started getting a little squeamish. The kids wanted to climb up even higher…

We all survived, but I felt much better once all three of us were back on the ground.

From Trafalgar Square, we hopped into a taxi to check out a couple museums.

I don’t know what the British word for “gridlock” is, but we were stuck in this roundabout for what seemed like forever. It did allow me to get several shots of this lovely monument…

I always get inspired by the old skeletons in natural history museums. They remind me of the work of one of my favorite architects, Santiago Calatrava.

I took several pics that I hope to incorporate into my artwork at some time. I really liked this one I took of some petrified wood.

October 5, 2010 - Posted by | photography, travel | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. More pics – great! What a lovely one of you and the kids in the car there. the British word for Gridlock is….Gridlock!
    It’s certainly one thing we don’t have here in Southern Spain, and I for one don’t miss it!

    They used to use the one empty plinth at Trafalgar square to exhibit weird art ( once placing an inverted plexi-glass copy of the plinth itself on top!) What was there this time Shelley, do you remember?

    I remember queuing around the block as a kid waiting to see the Tutankhamun exhibition at the British Museum.

    I’ll try and get a closer look at that photo – see who is on the horse! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | October 5, 2010

  2. Great photos Shelley, and what beautiful kids you have!!!
    The girl is our favourite young artist Nicole, isn’t she?
    And great T-Shirt you have on!
    So happy to see these photos!

    Comment by Miki | October 5, 2010

  3. Beautiful kids, Sheley!

    Comment by iondanu | October 10, 2010

  4. I swear I did not copy MIki! I wrote my commentary BEFORE reading others… And when an artist like Miki (and my modest self) think the same… it must be the truth…

    Comment by iondanu | October 10, 2010

  5. On the subject of Adorable kids, Danu, Miki showed me the picture of your grandson – just wonderful!

    Comment by kevmoore | October 10, 2010

  6. I agree with Miki – great zebra shirt. The first picture conjures up lions and witches and wardrobes.

    Comment by sittingpugs | October 10, 2010

  7. Thank you, everyone. I am very proud of my two little artists. They have done more drawing than me lately. I will have to find some things for the Mini Bar.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 12, 2010


Leave a Reply

