Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Evening in A Minor

I’ve been taking a long break from the internet to enjoy the Spring weather, but I’ve been missing my friends here at Cafe Crem. So I thought I’d stop by, with my hot cup of coffee, to share my latest projects with you.

I started playing my violin again, after being away from it for a very long time. I’m very excited about the new challenges this brings. I hope to have some recordings to share with you soon. Until then, I have this new slideshow art piece for you, featuring my silent violin:

I’ve also updated my Electric Blue slideshow, if you’d like to take a peek at that.

My next art project is for a show this summer that will have an Alice in Wonderland theme. I have until next month to create 5 pieces to submit for consideration. I’m thrilled with the possibilites this story presents, but I’m also finding it difficult to get a handle on what direction I want to go in with this. I at least know I want to create 2 or 3 slideshows. I am really enjoying this new format.

Now, it’s time to refill my coffee cup, look through some more of these great photos from Kev and Miki’s trip, then get back outside!

April 18, 2010 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, Music, nature, photo, Shelley's Creations | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Oh, Wow! It looks so nice whereever you are at. It has been all rain here forever, just about. Headed to Boston for some Masking fluid. I am taking an online WC Pencil Class. I have never used liquid Masking fluid. It was like taking a Violin or Guitar out and stroking it knowing good and well it needs a good tuning. Well, I just this morning picked up my Indian Flute given to me by Son. No, not a recorder. An American Indian Flute. I have a little book with it. I am going to give it some air. Never fear I will not torture you with the Sound. But I look forward to hearing your Violin.

    Continue to have a lovely Spring! Shelley. ((( Circle of Hugs)))

    Sherrie Roberts

    Comment by Sherrie Roberts | April 18, 2010

  2. Hi Shelley – great slideshow of you and your violin, and I really can’t wait to hear it! 😉
    Is the pic from your trip to Tennessee?
    We forgot to bring our USB cable, so we’ll try and find one locally and I’ll present some pics from crossing the Pyrenees the other day, the sun, the snow – it was stunning!

    Comment by kevmoore | April 19, 2010

  3. Sherrie — Thank you! The flute has such a lovely sound. I hope you had some fun with it today.
    Kev — This pic is at one of my favorite hiking spots near my house. I’ll see if I have any good ones to show from Tennessee. I mostly had my eye on the flowers. We went to the same site where the Medicine Wheel ceremony was two years ago, but the honeysuckle hadn’t bloomed yet.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | April 20, 2010

  4. Very cool stuff. Did you take violin lessons as a child? Junior high orchestra? High school orchestra?

    Comment by sittingpugs | April 23, 2010

  5. Thanks, Sitting Pugs! I started playing in 4th grade, then played in the Junior High and High School orchestras, the school’s pit orchestra when they did musicals, and some summer youth symphonies. I’m trying to venture out into some new styles right now.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | April 25, 2010

  6. Shelley, may I suggest a cover of “Killing Me Softly” or “How Deep Is Your Love” ?

    I took a year’s worth of orchestra in sixth grade just so I could take less PE.

    Comment by sittingpugs | April 26, 2010

  7. Ah, the BeeGees! That would be fun 🙂 I’ve been itching to get to the sheet music store. There are some websites to download sheet music, too. Did you keep your violin?

    Comment by shelleymhouse | April 27, 2010

  8. I used my sister’s violin. She sold it many years later. I still have my guitar but I haven’t touched it in a few years–I bet it’s out of tune!

    Comment by sittingpugs | April 27, 2010

  9. Ah! How deep is your love! My first pro band in ’79. Covered that, we put it on an album we recorded in Copenhagen. I’ll have to upload it on here so you ladies can have a laugh – and maybe play along!

    Kev

    Comment by kevmoore | April 28, 2010


Leave a Reply

