Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

journal entry 18.01.10

November 19, 2008 Lac Rond

# photo { What I am reading: Stephen King On Writing }

# poem: a new beginning

I stood upon the hill

wrapped in my frock

the dampness filled my lungs

and all I could see was barren land

There was no movement

except the heaving of my chest when I breathed

There was no color

for I had been blinded by the flash

The silence was unbearable

until I heard a raven in the distance

and I knew he had found me

and I him

He feared not I

nor I him

and he landed on my shoulder

and I could hear him restless

I reached into my pocket

and pulled out a handful of dried corn

and I fed him

We spent eternity together

and when I walked away from this place

he circled high and low

and I followed him

My sight over the next few weeks improved

and one day when the corn ran out

and Arias was flying high and low

I came upon a forest green

and heard a spring riverbed

I drank from the water Arias had found for us

and he drank too

my parched lips cracked and bleeding

and I heard the voices singing

we followed the melodic melancholy

until we came to a waterfall

deep within the forest

and the voices went silent

and I feared

Then I felt a hand on my shoulder

and Arias was not to be found

and the hand turned me around

and I saw her standing there

with Arias upon her shoulder

and she sang for me and Arias

The others came out of hiding

and joined us in song and friendship

and I swear I could see Arias smiling at me

I never gave it a second thought again

and Arias and I lived out our lives

amongst our new found friends

and joined often in song

as we shared a new beginning together

# Inspired enthusiasm.  This is the way to know if what your doing is working for you.  So whenever there is inspiration and enthusiasm there is creative empowerment that goes far beyond what a mere person is capable of.  I gleamed this from reading Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth.  Kind of ties into what Stephen King says in On Writing too.  Just write when you get an inspired idea and see where it takes you.  That inspiration usually contains the essence of enthusiasm when you can’t wait to get out of bed everyday to write.

###

January 19, 2010 - Posted by | Michael Pokocky's Poetry, photo, poetry, writing | ,

7 Comments »

  1. You might enjoy http://storieswithoutwords.wordpress.com then Michael. They post a photo, some by some very famous photographers, and you are invited to contribute: a story, a poem, a caption, a song, a essay or a title, whatever inspires you.
    I’ve been finding it gently and regularly inspiring and generally good fun!

    Comment by viv66 | January 19, 2010

  2. I have searched the recesses of my brain to recall a favourite Stephen King quote of mine:

    “…Talent in cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work….” Kind of ties in what you say about the enthusiasm to write. It is this willingness to get out of bed and get it down on paper, as it were, that separates the writer from the dreamer.

    I guess one can have a lot worse guidance than that of the esteemed Mr. King.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 19, 2010

  3. @ Viv thank you. I will check it out. How are you?

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | January 19, 2010

  4. I thought King’s book would be lame, but on the contrary he is no stuffed shirt. That’s the problem with literature today. There seems to be two camps: the literati and the rest. However I really don’t give a damn about that. We all know the writing stands on its own. If it is to be a literary masterpiece then it will be. What surprised me about Kind is the ego-less authority and helpful cut to the chase attitude he has. Add that his genuine interest in helping writers to find inspiration and how he gets rid of the fears that prevent enthusiasm. I was inspired and got enthusiastic after reading him. And if you ain’t writing and sending it “out there” you are just dreaming. Thanks Kev.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | January 19, 2010

  5. I’m good, Michael. Busy with excting projects and not so exciting day job; got news I will share very soon!
    I enjoyed the King “On Writing” immensely, but then I love his work anyway

    Comment by viv66 | January 19, 2010

  6. Can’t wait for the news. Ironically the only book I ever read from King is On Writing. Now I am reading The Dome. Then after that The Stand. That will take a winter. cheers___michael

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | January 19, 2010

  7. My top three favourite King books would have to be The Stand, IT, and Tommyknockers, although generally, I prefer Dean Koontz for my tastes. Kings novels however, have always translated better to the big and small screen, something that has rarely shown Koontz’s work in its best light.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 20, 2010


Leave a Reply

