Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Cathedrals of the New Age?

Walk the length and see the yellows turn to red....

Abandon liquids, all ye who enter here.....

On my travels this weekend to perform with Christie at the Golden Years show in Antwerp, I had to endure four flights, due to connecting both ways in Spain’s capital. This presented me with the opportunity to wander through Madrid airport’s spectacular new addition, Terminal 4.  Looking up at this incredible structure brought to mind comparisons with our classic Cathedrals of days gone by, and I began to think these were in fact, the cathedrals of the new age, where we pay homage to St,Christopher, the patron saint of travellers. Fanciful perhaps, but we are certainly in the lap of the gods as we hurtle skywards in those metal tubes!

Vaulted ceilings rise

To echo Gothic splendours

Whither the departure gates?

And whither do they send us?

Walk these endless hallways

With portals on all sides

Cathedrals of a new age

Where we fly the friendly skies

by Kev Moore © 2009

December 1, 2009 - Posted by | culture, fun, Kev Moore's Poetry, life, news, personal, photo, photography, travel

4 Comments »

  1. What a beautiful structure! I love your comparison to cathedrals, Kev. The term “flights of fancy” comes to mind — it is a good day to let my imagination soar, with my feet firmly planted on the ground 🙂

    I have received my copy of The Unreasonable Man, by the way. Wow Miki! This is such an incredible collection of your work! So many pieces, so many colors. This is definitely a book to be proud of, and it is a valuable addition to my coffee table, indeed!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 1, 2009

  2. Thanks Shelley! I think most of the passengers were wandering around with neck ache admiring the roof!

    Comment by kevmoore | December 1, 2009

  3. Geometry is art!

    Before I scrolled down and saw the entire image, I thought I could be looking up at a series of ships.

    Comment by sittingpugs | December 5, 2009

  4. Perhaps they should rename the airport “flotilla’…..

    Comment by kevmoore | December 7, 2009


Leave a Reply

