Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Strange Costumes: Chap. 3 – Playing the Field

I just finished the art for Chapter 3 of my altered book project. The text is small…here it is so you can read it:

Chapter 3: Playing the Field

 

          Fantastic information we find in the field. Tasty instrument, hear it play, food he likes. Searching shallow ends for frogs and fish, we get too close and find edges have snapped.

          In scenery sharp and strange we play; very vivid, very thin, and very fond of fruit. I hope the tree-top toucan can support all the weight.

          See the colorful two, overlap and sway, planting the seeds of the future. Penknife and pine, the hungry fulcrum faintly tips.

          Our friends are prying and peculiar. Stories are told. Perfectly attractive, bold and yellow, red and blue. We pick out our decorations so carefully.

          We find seeds and weeds for large appetites, all of them eating out of habit. Muddy mouthfuls make it difficult to speak. Entire worlds are reduced to hums and beats.
          Hands and arms, legs and feet, tiny twitters, a deep low beat. Graceful games turn frantic in a storm. Run and frisk, high and low, coming in and out of sight. Quick and urgent, they cry, they cry.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~In other news~~~~

Five feet of separation

I was 5 feet away from Jane Fonda the other night! I donated art to a fundraising auction she was hosting for G-CAPP (Georgia Coalition for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention). It was an inspiring evening, and I got a nice pic of Jane when the guy behind me had the winning bid on her clock:

 

 

 

The theme was “It’s About Time.” IKEA donated clocks to the artists to use in their creations. Here is my piece, “Dear Mr. Time”:

This is what the art looked like before I put it into the clock:

October 11, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, photo, Shelley's Creations, women | ,

16 Comments »

  1. On about Jane Fonda, I was flicking through channels yesterday afternoon (while our kids were busy wrecking the place with various art projects), and came across “Barefoot in the Park”… wonderful, wonderful movie.

    Comment by Jonathan | October 11, 2009

  2. I love her in all her movies. Now I want to re-watch them all! The last one I watched was Georgia Rule.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 11, 2009

  3. The Chapter Three made me want to eat a nectarine.

    Awesome story about Jane Fonda. I like your clock.

    Comment by sittingpugs | October 12, 2009

  4. Yum, nectarines. Now I feel like making some nectarine salsa. Thank you, Sitting Pugs 🙂 I have been curious — How did you come up with your screen name?

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 12, 2009

  5. […] snakes. I’ve been making progress on my Strange Costumes altered book project. Check out Chapter 3 at the Cafe Crem blog if you’re curious. Posted in Art, Digital art, Drawing, Dreams, Mixed media, Passion, […]

    Pingback by Ivy through the blinds « Art by Shelley ~ Life * Love * Coffee | October 12, 2009

  6. Nectarine salsa? Double yum.

    The name “sitting pugs” was the result of a friend pointing out a man-made lake to me when we were both at another friend’s house.

    Friend: “Look, there’s a man-made lake. Four ducks in a row.”

    Me: “Sitting ducks….sitting pugs. That sounds like a sports blog!”

    Comment by sittingpugs | October 12, 2009

  7. How cool is that!

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | October 12, 2009

  8. Coming on nicely!
    By the way, Michael’s comment is in the spam again, Miki!

    Comment by viv66 | October 12, 2009

  9. Thank you Viv! I can’t wait to hear Kev’s work on this chapter 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 12, 2009

  10. How Cool is this!

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | October 12, 2009

  11. Thanks Michael!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 13, 2009

  12. Great stuff Shelley – your words in this project always inspire me and I’m looking forward to posting the new music and perhaps a video to complement it soon!

    Five feet from Jane Fonda! -When I was kid that was every schoolboy’s dream!

    How nice of you to share these interesting projects here in Cafe Crem.

    Comment by kevmoore | October 13, 2009

  13. Thank you Kev.I doubt this project would have made it past the Pink Lemonade blooper without the encouragement I’ve gotten here in Cafe Crem.

    Sitting Pugs — Great story! I agree, it’s a great name for a sports blog 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 13, 2009

  14. Thank you, Shelley.

    Comment by sittingpugs | October 13, 2009

  15. Actually I found the quote on the clock very romantic, Shelley. Your work is developing much more power. Keep on moving forward my friend,____Michael

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | November 11, 2009

  16. Thanks so much, Michael!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | November 14, 2009


Leave a Reply

