Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Rainbows all over the place!

I have no idea why, although I am a physicist too, but our place is covered with rainbows, the walls, the roofs, the floors… and this with increasing tendency!

Perhaps a hint of God to me as a painter?

Everywhere these wonderful things appear, and I can’t help but be amazed, over and over. Nature is simply amazing…The following photos haven’t be retouched, this is how they came out of the camera. Why the background of the first one is so dark brown is a mystery to me, as the wall, or in this case it was the ceiling, is white… but the rainbow, yes, this is exactly how it looked like, so vibrant.

Rainbow 01Especially funny was the light above the rainbow in the second photo, which really looks like a question mark, asking, kind of:

“What the hell is this rainbow doing above the Rock-n-Roll Alley?”

Well, when one knows Rocker Kev Moore, one does not wonder anymore…

Rainbow 02

by Miki

October 4, 2009 - Posted by | nature, personal, photo |

9 Comments »

  1. Question mark or candy cane. It’s not just Nature in the flora-and-fauna. It’s science of physics and math.

    I always experience a similar kind of awe whenever I’m driving and see two cars merge into the same lane at exactly the same time and have a car or two between them. Unintentional choreography of movement.

    Or when pedestrians walk to the beat of music I can hear but they can’t.

    Comment by sittingpugs | October 5, 2009

  2. Yay, rainbows! I get these in my house too, but I’ve hung crystals at my windows, so I know how they get there. It is almost impossible not to smile when I see one 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | October 5, 2009

  3. “…Or when pedestrians walk to the beat of music I can hear but they can’t…” – Pugs, I find something incredibly profound in this phrase, and I’m not sure what it is, but it’s going in a song!

    Shelley: that’s cheating! 🙂 but in a good way!

    Comment by kevmoore | October 5, 2009

  4. Can’t wait to hear the lyric, Kev!

    Comment by sittingpugs | October 5, 2009

  5. @ Pugs
    For me everything which I can see, hear, touch, etc. is Nature, mathematics and physics more than anything else..
    I love your words by the way, very poetical… if I wrote a song myself I would use the part “unintentional choreography of movement”… great stuff!

    @Shelley
    I really love these little rainbows everywhere, they make me smile too. As I said some time ago, we have connected 2 adjacent flats, making holes and arches in the common walls, and now the whole light/shadow games have changed inside. Very fascinating and lovely.

    Comment by Miki | October 6, 2009

  6. Miki ,maybe you know it .Our friend Jeff Christie has a song called Both ends of the Rainbow .It is a wonderful song ,it was his first solo record .You can listen to it on youtube,Ray Chan produced a video for this beautiful song

    Best wishes to Kev and you

    Rainer

    Comment by Rainer | October 6, 2009

  7. Hello Rainer, and welcome again in Cafe Crem, you are for me here an Honour Guest, as your mugs have been quite often featured here, in photos and drawings!
    No, I didn’t know about Both Ends of The Rainbow. It is a wonderful title, and I will listen to it, and watch the video.No doubts I will love them!
    Best wishes to you too in Germany, and to Tonie and Frans too!

    Comment by Miki | October 7, 2009

  8. Have you ever done the experiment with a light source, and a thin slot ? (where you get the waves projected)

    Comment by Jonathan | October 7, 2009

  9. Hello Jonathan!
    Nice to see you again in Cafe Crem.. you know, I spent the first 30 years of my life with sciences and experiment, and what i like nowadays is much more the casualty of what my eyes meet… I love these unexpected rainbows which are all over our place, not even trying to understand where they come from, just enjoying and being, once more, amazed about the games of nature…

    Comment by Miki | October 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

