Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Not just left on the shelf…

Our mugs unitThe expression “On the shelf”  usually has sad or negative connotations – but not in this instance – Eventually we got a place where we can display our mugs! I had been wanting such a unit for a long time, as, you surely have noticed, I love our mugs, and I do find pleasure in looking at them (and using them of course!) . Much better than having them hidden inside a cupboard! Kevin spent some time thinking how he could ‘adapt’ the back of some of our new kitchen units in order to show our mugs off, and this is the result.

Some of you will surely recognise “their mugs”… Susan, Shelley, Comtessine, Rainer… thanks again to all of you for sharing our love for mugs or/and the lovely gifts which are now proudly standing in our new unit!

I thought I would also show you what our new kitchen looks like… it is not finished yet, there is a lot of little jobs to do for the kitchen chef Kev Moore, but we are slowly getting there… Where Kevin is sitting- you can’t really see it on the photo- , the breakfast bar has the shape of a Gibson Explorer guitar … Kevin (who else!) made the pattern in cardboard, our carpenter – who already did such great works for us and whose son Macauley has exhibited some of his art work in The Minibar) cut the wood. and now we are waiting for some black and white mosaic tiles to cover it… We’ll show the result when it is finished!

Kev Moore in his kitchen

… and on this side of the mugs unit, is our office, with our desks and computers, on which we write to you all, dear Cafe Cremers!

by Miki & Kev

September 28, 2009 - Posted by | Art, coffee, friends, fun

10 Comments »

  1. Wow! Your kitchen looks wonderful! I love the mug shelf, and the guitar-shaped breakfast bar is very clever.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | September 28, 2009

  2. Hi Kev and Miki
    the kitchen looks great and the mugs are wonderful ,Maybe i can find two more beautiful mugs in the next weeks until we`ll meet in Essen

    Best wishes
    Rainer

    Comment by Rainer | September 28, 2009

  3. Quelle bonne idée de les mettre ainsi en valeur !
    Voilà une belle invitation à trinquer avec vous 🙂

    Comment by Pomme | September 29, 2009

  4. @ Shelley
    The new kitchen is a long story. We had one flat in which we lived after we moved from Albir to Turre one year ago, and recently we bought another flat here, adjacent to the first one, and now we are connecting both, somehow… the new kitchen is the connection of 2 half kitchens, luckily they had the same type of kitchen units! It demands quite a lot of thoughts and creativuty to make the 2 flats together, not only the kitchen, look like an entity!

    @ Rainer
    ich habe mich sehr gefreut, Dein Kommentar hier zu lesen.. Deine Mugs sind Stars in unserem Haushalt, sie sind natuerlich nicht nur “mugs”, sie sind ein wunderschoenes andenken an Dich, Deutschland und Christie!

    @ Pomme
    Tu sais, on adore vraiment nos mugs, même quand ils sont vides, ils sont plein! Plein d’histoires, de souvenirs, de gratitude et de remerciements!

    Comment by Miki | September 29, 2009

  5. C’est amusant, les miens aussi ont tous une histoire (même s’ils sont moins nombreux que les vôtres et si je n’ai pas un homme avec qui les partager qui fasse d’aussi charmants sourires 😉 !)

    Comment by Pomme | October 2, 2009

  6. Si un jour tu as le temps, Pomme (mais malheureusement j’en doute! 🙂 ), tu devrais écrire les histoires de tes mugs, m’envoyer les photos, et je les publierai ici… vraiment j’en serais plus que ravie! Mais je sais que c’est a peu prés impossible, vu la vie effrénée que tu mènes.. alors, un jour quand tu seras à la retraite peut être? Bien que, honnêtement, j’ai du mal a t’imaginer a la retraite!

    Ceci dit, il y a un petit homme dans ta maison qui a un tres charmant sourire: Piou! Et je suis sure que les 2 autres aussi…

    Comment by Miki | October 4, 2009

  7. En voilà une jolie idée Miki ! Au contraire… je donne un coup de frein à toutes mes activités, je prends une pause (thé bien sûr), et je te fais ça prochainement.
    Comme détente, je trouve ça formidable !
    Tu as raison, j’ai mes petits hommes qui me préparent souvent mon thé mais … ne trinquent jamais avec moi 😀

    Comment by Pomme | October 5, 2009

  8. Oh Pomme, si tu savais quel plaisir ces quelques lignes m’ont fait!
    Quand j’ai lance Cafe Crem, il y a maintenant 2 ans, j’avais vraiment l’intention de le consacrer uniquement aux mugs, a leurs histoires et a leur cote artistique quelquefois.
    Malheureusement je n’ai pas eu assez de participation, et avec le temps, j’ai fait de Cafe Crem un endroit d’expression pour tout le monde sur tout. Mais je suis restée fidèle a mon amour d’origine, et pour ma part, je publie surtout des histoires de mugs, des dessins et peintures de mugs..

    Alors si tu peux vraiment trouver le temps et l’envie, ce serait une immense joie pour moi de traduire tes histoires et de les publier. Si possible avec une photo du mug en question…

    Allez, je suis en train de prendre mon second café au lait de la matinée, je trinque avec toi de tout mon cœur!

    Comment by Miki | October 6, 2009

  9. Voilà une des raisons qui me fait dire que tu foisonnes d’idées géniales Miki !
    J’adore !
    Ce soir, je trinquerai à la Verveine, doux plaisir du soir pour la digestion.
    Tu as mille fois raison : chaque mug a une histoire. Je pense qu’on ne les achète pas par hasard en tout cas.
    Tu verras, les miens (moins nombreux que les vôtres) sont chargés pour la plupart d’émotions très fortes !

    Comment by Pomme | October 7, 2009

  10. Wow, what a fantastic kitchen!

    Comment by expat21 | November 3, 2009


Leave a Reply

