Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Everi wan died off the boom

2009 The Bomb

by Macauley, 11 years old

Another young artist, called Macauley, 11 years old, has accepted to have some of his works published in Cafe Crem.

Macualey is the son of an English handworker living here, and who is actually building our little home sauna (yes, even in Spain, a sauna is useful, although here and right now any place without air conditioning is a sauna itself). School hasn’t started yet in Spain, Macauley comes with his father, to us, helping him with the building sometimes but spending most of his time in my gallery, drawing and painting.

As you know I am always curious about childrens art. As I saw that picture which he has just drawn, I thought it was worth sharing with you all.

I interviewed the young artist about his work, asking him if all these people are his friends. I got it quite wrong, as his answer was

“No, these are my enemies, and the boom kills them all!”

.. But as to the question of whether these enemies are all real and if he has really so many in life, he said:

“Some are my friends too…”

And then he pointed at Dany in the middle of the picture, and explained to me that he was a fat kid, and had to die first… On the back of the drawing is written:

“Everi wan died off the boom”

He also asked me if I paint “War pictures”. I said no, being more from the pacific kind…

PS: if you live around here, and need a carpenter, just ask me for a reference: Macauley’s father is doing a great job!

by Miki

September 9, 2009 - Posted by | Art, children, death, humor, life, Macauley, The MiniBar | ,

7 Comments »

  1. My son paints such pictures as well 😉

    If I ask him, what are they, he say they are demons trying to kill the good people and Mother Earth and that they are poisonous. And than the good wins…

    Comment by vinayakah | September 9, 2009

  2. I almost collapsed in tears of laughter when I read the bit about the fat kid! Children are devoid of the Politically-correct restraints that shackle us adults!

    I remember drawing scenes of gory battles to order as a kind, and selling them for a couple of pence a sheet. Must be a guy thing!

    My son Corey, had plenty of enemies when he was Macauley’s age and went to school in Spain.. he was always scrapping with someone or other, so I guess some things never change!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 9, 2009

  3. Hello Vinayakah.

    thanks for your comment. I just come back from your blog, and I was enchanted by “Ocean and ships”… simply wonderful!

    Comment by Miki | September 9, 2009

  4. I must say that I am sometimes very glad that I don’t have any children. if my children started to draw such bombs and war pictures, I think I would panic! But listening to the Dads here, who also were boys, it seems quite normal…

    Comment by Miki | September 9, 2009

  5. Thank you, the dialogues are always anriching.

    And regarding the painting, I would not panic at all. He is painting the wars, and cemeteries, but at the same time he is very compassionate and very loving child that hates violence.

    One cant just kill the inner beauty – it is indestructible 😉

    Comment by vinayakah | September 9, 2009

  6. This is great! I remember my little brother doing elaborate battle scenes with stick figures, many years ago. This brought back some memories! Thank you for sharing this.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | September 9, 2009

  7. “No, these are my enemies, and the boom kills them all!”

    Reminds me of the line in the Disney cartoon Lilo & Stitch when the secret agent looks at what Lilo is doing (plunging a doll into a jar of pickle juice), and she says, “My friends need to be punished.”

    I like that sun.

    Comment by sittingpugs | September 11, 2009


Leave a Reply

