Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

I sold our soul…

Hello Cafe Cremers….

I told you some days ago that there was perhaps a project in the pipeline concerning our (former) Cafe Crem logo painting.

Well, it has become reality now:

I have sold the copyright outright from that painting!

For the ones who don’t know what that exactly means: we are not allowed anymore to use this painting as a logo, or for anything else, and much more than that, the painting does not belong to me anymore, I have lost all the rights on it.

But to tell the truth, although some people say that selling a painting copyright outright is like selling one’s soul, I don’t feel guilty at all, on the contrary. Our former Cafe Crem logo will now be the logo of a REAL Coffee Shop in Chula Vista, California, which will soon open its doors

The owner, a very kind guy, wrote to me

“… the painting will be on everything for my coffee shop. My  cups, business cards, advertisements, everything, so it will be used a lot. “

And now I think, if we Cafe Cremers should meet one day – which has been my dream for a long time! – we should all meet in Chula Vista at that coffee shop where our soul lives now!

What do you think?

By Miki

August 25, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, culture, friends, life, Miki's Paintings, painting | ,

8 Comments »

  1. Congrats.. is what I think…though I think I’d have a REALLY hard time doing it…

    Comment by Jessica | August 25, 2009

  2. It’s a great thing but kinda sad maybe.
    But maybe we will meet there one day, too?

    Comment by viv66 | August 25, 2009

  3. @ Jessica
    Hello and thank you very much for your comment!
    I have sold copyright out-rights of some of my paintings at different times, and I was ALWAYS happy about it. And I don’t mean the money. Most of the time these paintings were meant to represent a place, a new business, an organisation, etc… and I much more prefer to see my paintings have a life of their own in this way than to see them hanging on a private wall. I jyst find it more exciting

    @Viv
    as i commented to Jessica, I don;t feel it sad at all! But I know that most artists would. The thing is that I haven;t really an emotional relationship to my paintings, when they are done, they are kind of past to me. I have a deep relationship to the process of painting, but not to the results themselves.
    Although in this case it is quite different. I do have an emotional connection to my painting “The Coffee Cup Club’ because it represented Café Crem, and as you know, I always considered cafe Crem as “My Baby”.
    And yes, let us meet at the Coffee Shop in Chula Vista!!!

    Comment by Miki | August 25, 2009

  4. I feel this move has kind of given Cafe Crem its wings. It’s like nurturing a child and letting it out into the big wide world! -And for sure we’ll go and see it for real someday!

    Comment by kevmoore | August 25, 2009

  5. you did not sell our soul miki!!!

    what you did was actually inspire our souls!!!

    there’s a big difference. and you will see the results come back directly or indirectly to every one of us here.

    now that is how i would advise you to look at this.

    perhaps write an [update] expressing your views on this in the post would be great especially if you detail first how it feels personally to you to have given birth to a new coffee shop in california and second why the owners of this coffee shop felt inspired to buy your painting with full rights.

    hugs from canada

    Comment by michael pokocky | August 25, 2009

  6. Congratulations are in order?

    I will miss seeing those cups here, but hopefully will see them in places where I least expect them.

    Comment by sittingpugs | August 26, 2009

  7. Miki

    When I was a small child I actually lived for several years in Chula Vista! The best part was that we could drive to Disneyland for the weekend… Congratulations!

    Comment by Bob Cornelis | August 26, 2009

  8. @ Michael,
    Don;t worry, Michael, I know I haven’t sold our soul! And it is just wonderful to me that my painting will represent a REAL coffee shop, no bad feelings at all there.
    I don’t know really to what I have given birth, but the coffee shop in California didn’t need me to be alive! But I do hope my painting will bring them luck…

    @ Sittingpugs
    Congratulatons are fine. I miss the cups here too, I had created this painting almost 3 years ago now especially for my new project :Cafe Crem”. But you know, I have negotiated 2 mugs with the new owner of the painting (and of the coffee shop), meaning for Kevin and me, the mugs will still be with us1

    @ Bob
    I hope you will go back there, have some stop at the new coffee shop and send us a photo!
    As I was in Disneyland Paris, the thing I most enjoyed there was… the golf courses. They had the Disney creatures everywhere if I remember well…

    Comment by Miki | August 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

