Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

View from a mountain top

pict0498

I walked through pouring rain through a Scottish forest and up a small mountain (you might call it a hill but my legs said it was a mountain). I stood against winds that nearly tipped me over. I gazed through mist and rain at the view of the Solway Firth, obscured and stormy. And then, having gone up, I needed to go down again. The bit I hate the most; I get occasional attacks of vertigo.

As we started our trek back off the mountain, we saw in the valley below us a sight that you can just make out in the photo above: a rainbow.

For me, the rainbow is a symbol as well as a scientific phenomenon. To me it means the storms are breaking and the promise of sunshine ahead has appeared. I had a bit of a shiver when I saw this one, as if it had personal meaning for me.

This winter has been an awful one for me; I’ve struggled with depression, mild paranoia, anxiety and a host of other delights. The winter is over but the causes of the issues remain and while I know that if I keep busy and focus on other things I can keep ahead of it, even so, the issues still remain, patiently waiting for me.

After we came back from Scotland, we went to stay with one of my oldest friends in north Yorkshire. A great time was had by all, but certain things came out of the visit, that I believe presage enormous changes for me. I’m hesistant to give details, partly because details are still scanty, but if I say that I had a strong feeling throughout of history being made. Maybe only my own history and maybe also hers, but even so, in a quiet way, something momentous took place.

I especially wanted to report it here first, because Cafe Crem is extremely important to me, and you guys have all been great. I will report more as time goes on but I can simply say that for me that Scottish rainbow is a sign that some of my storms are breaking and sunshine is beginning to appear.

April 12, 2009 - Posted by | Easter, God in our life, life, nature, personal, photo, Viv's Art, writing | , , , , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. Happy to hear of your optimistic outlook, Viv! ..and I hope things unfold for you as you would wish them to.

    Comment by kevmoore | April 12, 2009

  2. Thank you…so do I!

    Comment by viv66 | April 12, 2009

  3. I walked through pouring rain through a Scottish forest and up a small mountain (you might call it a hill but my legs said it was a mountain).

    Much like Hugh Grant’s Englishman Who Went Up A Hill But Came Down a Mountain.

    Comment by sittingpugs | April 12, 2009

  4. it was mentioned, yes!

    Comment by viv66 | April 12, 2009

  5. Yes, that film came to mind with me too, Pugs! Great movie.

    Comment by kevmoore | April 13, 2009

  6. Hi Viv, great to read you again here.
    I am so glad to hear about this positive things entering your life. Please let us know as soon as you are ready to share them. I do enjoy very much to hear about the successes of the Cafe Cremers, it really touches me quite deeply.

    Comment by Miki | April 13, 2009

  7. Will do.
    In the meantime it’s back to the saltmines for me, come Wednesday. I’m trying to keep it inside me, that feeling of, “I’ve got a secret and I’m not telling you!” while I deal with some of the irritations of work, colleagues etc.
    I wish I got sick pay cos I’d call in sick if I could!

    Comment by viv66 | April 13, 2009

  8. Hi Viv,

    I am eager to learn more about this and I sincerely wish and hope that your storms are breaking and that sunshine is entering your life.

    Love
    J

    Comment by J | April 14, 2009

  9. I’ll keep people informed, J. It’s still early days and after a rotten morning at work, I’m keen to focus entirely on better future plans and keep my secret smile even though I hardly slept last night for anxiety about going back.
    I can’t let them steal my good news and good inner smiles, so I must endure and keep smiling!

    Comment by viv66 | April 15, 2009

  10. Keep your “secret smile” and never let anyone steal your good news. I will smile for you too feeling good knowing that you are sensing good news!

    Love

    J

    Comment by J | April 15, 2009

  11. I like your use of symbols as guideposts of your journey. I agree that this symbol presages an emergence from the dark and damp depths where focus is on wrestling with the soul. The promise is for sun and the bringing of light to the stuff hidden in the shadows. Good news indeed.

    Comment by retiredeagle | April 19, 2009

  12. Oh my goodness Viv! I can hardly stand not knowing the secret! Everyone is so polite around here. Do tell, girl!!!

    Comment by psychscribe | April 20, 2009

  13. I am excited for you! Whatever the news, if you are hopeful about it that is a great sign!!!!

    Comment by vanessaleighsblog | April 21, 2009

  14. Hey Viv! I really liked reading this because of its transparency and authenticity. I too struggle with depression and over the years found that I can use it to write beautiful things. Seems the beauty comes more easily during these times. I am also, like the others, waiting to hear about the news. I like how you create mystery. It attracts me. Pure curiosity.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | April 21, 2009

  15. Hi Michael, nice to hear from you.
    It’s not perversity that keeps me quiet, but rather like when a woman knows she’s pregnant, she doesn’t say until she’s sure and it’s past the danger time. having lost one baby, myself, I know that I was glad I didn’t tell anyone because it would have been heartbreaking to have to tell people I’d lost it. So this is like telling close pals that there might be a bit of good news soon…

    Comment by viv66 | April 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

