Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

How injured I am

pridepark_l1

Kev writes: Some time ago, on Cafe Crem, there was a short discussion on the merits, even the relevance of football in our society. Miki and I , being fans of the game and Derby in particular, saw something profound within the game that society as a whole takes from it. There is a great swathe of ordinary folk across the world for whom “the beautiful game” underpins their very existence. It is responsible for their highs, and their lows – each of which are handled with maximum emotion from the heart.  If you look around the net, you will find an image of a football stadium, and overlaid is the legend: “This is my church – this is where I heal my hurts”.  So today, to give some insight into what the game means to the football fan, I have pleasure to present, with the writer’s permission,  a poem about the love of the Rams, Derby County, by a friend from the BBC 606 Football discussion boards, MapRead , entitled:

How Injured I Am

I got myself to the ground
At last, away from the din
Of my chaotic life
Away from the pressures
The stresses and strains
Some space for me found
Where I could be part of a family
Of a group, of a fellowship
All wanting the same result
At last, some space to think
About nothing that invades me
About nothing that pervades me
Or raids my troubled mind
I disappear into the crowd
I talk to strangers, it’s allowed
At last some space to breathe
To escape into my other world
Where I am free to judge
To shout and be angry
To laugh, to cry, to point
To moan, to sit and ponder
Just to watch eleven heroes
Don the jersey I once dreamed
Of wearing proudly myself
Yet it never quite happened
I was neither good, committed
Talented, hardworking or fit enough
The game is great
The space is huge
I breathe easily for an hour
And a half plus stoppage time
How injured I am
With my unfulfilled dreams
Of never being a hero
Never playing the Ram.

MapRead ©2009

March 25, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, poetry, sport, writing | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Hello Kevin,

    You know I was not a football fan but I begin to understand a lot of things, and this text allows me knowing how someone could be proud to belong to a group, especialy as DCFC’ fans.

    I am very fond of your musical football stories which make me traveling far from home.

    Now, I have discovered a little more about Rams and, even I am a froggy with a poor english, I can say that Pride Park is well-named. Indeed.

    Comment by Joël | March 25, 2009

  2. Cheers, Joel! Honorary French Rams Fan, no doubt!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 25, 2009

  3. Hello MapRead,

    as Kevin said, I am myself a Derby Fan. Well, I am only a very new one ( “A Baby Ram”. kind of…). It started not a long time ago, as Nigel Clough took the reins.

    Now I am supporting your team with all my heart, every time they play I can’t help shaking, dancing all over the place when they win and crying when they lose…

    Your poem has touched me very deeply, it says exactly and in a very beautiful way what I start to understand about football and football fans. In this sense I feel exactly like Joel, your other froggie fan!

    I am very happy and honoured that you allowed us to featured it here in our beloved Cafe Crem. Thank you so much!

    Comment by Miki | March 25, 2009

  4. Hi Miki

    Thanks very much indeed. I too admire your artwork!

    It really is my honour to be asked to have it reproduced on another site, so thank you for featuring it.

    I’m looking forward to having a scan through Cafe Crem!

    Map

    Comment by MapRead | March 25, 2009

  5. PS Miki,

    It’s great that you have caught the bug, although I warn you, there is no known cure!

    Map

    Comment by MapRead | March 25, 2009

  6. Yet it never quite happened
    I was neither good, committed
    Talented, hardworking or fit enough
    The game is great
    The space is huge

    I really like that part.

    Celebration of athletic competition does have room for everyone…no matter how well-versed, read, or spoken.

    Comment by sittingpugs | March 26, 2009

  7. @ MapRead

    Nice to see you here… I hope the coffee was good.. or are you one of these hopeless tea drinkers? 🙂

    I never heard the expression “to catch the bug” before, but I believe that I understand what it means… sounds quite dangerous, something like a virus, right? An addiction certainly!!! But an addiction which I deeply enjoy, and I prefer to go to hell than to get cured now!

    By the way: you are very welcome to post here any kind of poetry, text… you can be sure that they will be highly appreciated!
    I am reading you through Kevin;s eyes, on the Ram board, he often reads me your posts, and I always enjoy it a lot… For myself I don’t really to go and be active there, me little female froggy I feel quite shy among all these male Rams…

    @ Pugs
    I liek that part too…
    But I believe that what MapRead is writing goes far beyond “celebration of athletic competition”. I think it is about more basic, deeper human stuff… about passion, about the need to belong somewhere (“family”), about freedom, etc…

    @ Joel
    It is wonderful to support DCFC with you, I always enjoy our chats on Kevin’s blog when a game is on! Funny how we turn that music studio into a football stadium sometimes!

    Comment by Miki | March 26, 2009

  8. @ Pugs
    I liek that part too…
    But I believe that what MapRead is writing goes far beyond “celebration of athletic competition”. I think it is about more basic, deeper human stuff… about passion, about the need to belong somewhere (”family”), about freedom, etc…

    which is precisely why it has room for everyone…it is room for everyone.

    Comment by sittingpugs | March 26, 2009

  9. Miki – Just black and strong coffee for me. I might take you up on the publishing my other ‘poems’ invite. As you will know yourself, it is a very good feeling when the reader (listener or observer) ‘feels’ what is being expressed. Thank you Miki.

    Pugs: Thanks very much.

    Map

    Comment by MapRead | March 27, 2009

  10. @ MapRead
    You are welcome, just tell us when you feel as sharing another poem or text! We will be very happy about it.
    Yes, of course I know how it feels when our fans feel what we want to express. It goes very deep in fact, helping not to feel so alone in this big big world…
    God, I can’t wait until next Saturday to see the Rams winning again… 🙂

    Comment by Miki | March 28, 2009


Leave a Reply

