Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Ginger tea, and 3 hearts in a pan

When I was pregnant with my second child, nauseous with morning sickness all day long, a relative showed me how to make ginger tea. I’ve been waking in the middle of the night lately, wishing I had fresh ginger root in the house. I’m not pregnant right now, just…busy.

Matthew, my second-born, is 5 years old now. He took some pics of me a few days ago:

I signed up to make a treat for Matthew’s class for St. Patrick’s Day. The room mom sent instructions for a cute cupcake decorated with rainbows made with Airheads candy. Could I pull this off?

I had my doubts, but it worked out in the end.

Sugar, sugar, sugar!

A mom can hardly go wrong when lots of sugar is involved. I used the leftover cake batter to make a few heart cupcakes.

I was excited to finish my Sleeping Fairy jigsaw puzzle yesterday. I started it last fall, but had to put it away to use the table it was on for the kids’ birthday parties, and then the Christmas tree.

I might frame this one for Nicole’s room. It was tougher than I expected. I don’t think I’ll want to put it together again.

I’ve been working on a couple new poems. One of them, Orange Day, is almost ready to post. I still need to work on an image for the other one, Fighting Dragons.

Time for me to get back to work!

March 18, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe L'Arte, children, family, life, Shelley's Creations |

7 Comments »

  1. Lovely stuff!
    I used to eat crystalised ginger when pregnant; turns out it was my nan’s favourite too for nausea, but she had 8 babies and I only ever had one, successfully.
    looking forward to the poems!

    Comment by viv66 | March 19, 2009

  2. Thanks Viv!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | March 19, 2009

  3. mMMMMMMM!!! Shelley, those cakes look scrumptious! Coupled with your mentioning Ginger, reminds me of the wonderful Jamaica ginger cake I used to eat as a kid…loved it! You also look like you have VERY full days! thanks for sharing all this

    Comment by kevmoore | March 19, 2009

  4. Hi Kev! I thought those cakes would catch your eye 🙂 I’ve never had ginger cake. Now I want to try that. I wonder if they’re easy to make…

    Comment by shelleymhouse | March 19, 2009

  5. Wow, I’m a third-grade teacher, and I can tell you that if a kid brought those to our class, everyone would go wild! These are fantastic!!

    Madame Monet

    Comment by Madame Monet | March 22, 2009

  6. What wonderful things can happen between our children and ourselves. They bring out a part of us that is childlike and curiously this same quality is what Picasso tried to teach all of us. To remain a child I presume so we never lose the wonder and the curiosity. I believe that this is what is natural for us to do and we must be resolute to the end to find it and keep it.
    Great to read this post Shelley!

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | March 22, 2009

  7. A home made one Shelley! — mmm, that would be heavenly!
    🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | March 23, 2009


Leave a Reply

