Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Bubble Boy – 19 –

Bubble Boy - 19 - , by Miki

Bubble Boy - 19 - , by Miki

(Original German Version)

(Bubble Boy – 1 –)     (Bubble Boy – 18 –)

Bub ran the whole way back to the crossing and once there he slumped down to the ground. Everything had been so exciting and exhausting –well, no wonder, Bub was really not used to physical exercise and fresh air!- so he really needed some rest now. And in fact before he was aware of this he felt asleep.

Tiwoo, who had spent her time in the air fighting against the wind gusts and whirls, felt very tired too. She didn’t get much exercise and fresh air either in Barbra’s castle, since she didn’t take her anymore on her night flights. She fought awhile against the sleep as she saw the little boy sleeping, thinking that this was the occasion to free the Witch from her poison bottle. But even sleeping Bub kept his two hands deeply thrust inside his pockets, as if he could read Tiwoo’s mind!

The day after, well… I mean at some point later, as day and night didn’t exist anymore in Barbra’s land, only night, our three heroes woke up. To tell the truth, Barbra hadn’t slept at all, trying to find a way to escape while Bub was sleeping, trying especially all kinds of magic code and naughty words, resulting in nothing, absolutely nothing happening. But although she was a tiny little Witch now, she still had a big will and much strength of character, and she would never give up!

As he awoke, Bub chose to go towards West. The way was as straight and as long as the one leading Northwards. Bub noticed that here too, some light appeared at the horizon, but the wind was much more tender, more a light breeze than a storm. It even seemed to carry with it a pleasant smell which made Bub feel comfortable, kind of. The farther he walked, the stronger the smell became and finally Bub really felt wonderful, perhaps for the first time since he was born.
Bub didn’t know about the power of smells in our lives, but I am sure you know… just think of the smell in the kitchen when your mother is baking pancakes… it is as if nothing bad could ever happen to you again! And this is why, remembering the inner voice, a thought crossed Bub’s mind:
“This must be the right way for me! “

And this is why, Bub  started to run, impatient and curious to see where the way was going. Soon he heard strange noises, quite loud, sounds like he never had heard before. It didn’t sound  like the awful screaming from Barbra, nor like the “Tiwoo Tiwoo” from the bird, nor like the sound of the wind in her wings. It was  a darker sound, and although it became louder and louder  it had something calming and reassuring. It was a feeling like with the smell before.

Soon Bub arrived at a wide yellow surface which seemed to be made of something totally different from what he knew. The feeling under his naked feet was extremely pleasant, slightly tickling but wonderfully soft, quite warm but not too much, just the right temperature.
You surely have understood by now that the yellow surface was a beach and that the  nice stuff under Bub’s feet was sand. And as always in our  world, where there is a beach, there is a sea, or at least a lot of water. And in fact judging by the violent sounds the water was making now, directly in front of Bub, it could only be a sea , or perhaps even a wild ocean!

The water indeed was very wild, and the waves, metres high, greatly impressed our little boy, breaking down in front of him in thousands of little water tongues which seem to leap out of the big blue mouth just to lick Bub’s feet. The water was cold but Bub enjoyed the caress around his feet. It was both scary and fascinating at the same time, and in spite of his fear, Bub stood there a long long time, watching and enjoying  the scenery and all these new pleasant feelings in his body and brain. He loved to see the millions of water pearls floating upon the foam, making the water looking like thousands of  princesses dancing in a court ball. Not that he knew really much about princesses, but I do believe that all children in the world, even the ones born in a soap bubble, have an intuitive knowledge about princes and princesses: they have simply belonged to their world since the beginning of time!

But as much as he loved it, it became clear to him that the way ended here, by this wall of water. No way he could go across that infinite mass!

(next instalment on Thursday 19th March 2009)

By Miki

March 12, 2009 - Posted by | Art, books, children | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I especially love the picture of the sea here; the waves look like the tail feathers of a peacock. Lovely!

    Comment by viv66 | March 12, 2009

  2. Thank you very much, Viv…
    Peacocks are so incredibly beautiful, I can always spend hours watching at them. A wonder of nature, truly.
    By the way: how are you? Have you had your Italian singer student. and if yes, did you (and her) enjoy?

    Comment by Miki | March 12, 2009

  3. Hiya Miki,
    Yes, my singer has been with me this week; today was our last day. She was lovely, absolutely lovely and I hope we will stay in touch. We had a lot of fun.
    I’ve been troubled by a severe anxiety attack for the last week or so, and it has been a challenge to get through things but I have, which is great. Tomorrow I plan to do little, apart from go to the bank to pay in my wages. I am also looking for an outfit for a wedding; hate shopping for clothes but I saw something from the bus window today, so might go and hunt it down!
    It’d be lovely to see Bubble Boy as a book in the flesh(paper) one day; the illustrations are so mesmerising even for me as an adult!
    By the way, has anyone heard anything from Michael; he seems to have vanished again.

    Comment by viv66 | March 12, 2009

  4. Dear Viv,

    I am so pleased to hear about your great time the Italian singer. It is, I find, extremely important for our quality of life, to meet lovely people, and to be on the same wavelength as them. I am really happy for you.

    I do hate myself to shop for clothes, but I “practice” it to the extreme… i always look like a beggar, kind of… I have a way to defend myself against any attack concerning my outfit, saying:
    “But look, all my clothes get ruined very quick by my paintings!”
    Which is true, of course. They then argue that I could wear an overall. I could, indeed, but I am a very impulsive painter, and when I get my impulsions, I have to start at once, no time to change my clothes!

    Yes, we have heard from Michael, but not as much as I would like… He is busy with the launching of his book, and some other bigger projects. I think he is quite good, and this is indeed the most important!!!

    Comment by Miki | March 13, 2009

  5. Hahahahaha! I am very amused as I am a naturally scruffy person, regardless of what I wear, I end up looking a bit Boho, a bit hippyish. I was turned away from one shop on the Champs Elysee last year, even though I was in work clothes and was quite smart. They said they were closing, but there were five minutes left so…
    I am glad Michael is OK and doing well.

    Comment by viv66 | March 13, 2009

  6. Miki I am impressed as well as with Kev for keeping the book alive and going resolutely. What a commitment and I do know how busy you are and that makes me even more impressed.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | March 18, 2009

  7. Hi Michael!
    You know, I have learnt in life very soon that commitment is the only way to get what I want…

    Comment by Miki | March 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

