Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

My Friend The Little Man

"Samson", by Miki - Pastel & Pencil, 65 x 50 cm, 2009

"Samson", by Miki - Pastel & Pencil, 65 x 50 cm, 2009

Just finished this portrait of one of my favourites actors, Michael J. Anderson, whom I discovered for the first time in the series “Carnivale”. I was seduced at once and always thought when I saw him:

“I wished I had such a little man as a friend…:

I chose to draw him with a coffee cup in the hand, in honour of my favourite place in WordPress:

Café Crem!

by Miki

February 28, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, culture, film, friends, men, Miki's Paintings, movies, painting, personal, women | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Un petit homme par une grande artiste ! Ne vois pas dans mes mots de la flatterie mais j’adore vraiment tes portraits : la vie est présente, pas de doute !

    Comment by Joël | February 28, 2009

  2. Merci Joël! je sais que tu n’es pas un flatteur, ce qui est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles j’ apprécie toujours tes compliments (et commentaires en général)!
    Et puis, chaque fois, quel plaisir d’avoir des visiteurs français à Café Crem!

    Comment by Miki | March 1, 2009

  3. I love how you capture Michael J. Anderson’s Samson! …and in fact, given the remarkable life the actor has led, (as a NASA scientist) and your wonderful background in mathematics, I believe you two would make great friends!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 1, 2009

  4. Kevin is back, Kevin is back! 🙂
    You see, he just came back from his gig in the UK, had no sleep last night and hardly some the night before, and had to drive many miles in that time, and the first thing he does when he comes back (after hugging and kissing of course! and giving me the surprise gift he brought for me…) is to come to Cafe Crem and leave such a beautiful comment… I am so incredibly lucky to have him!

    Comment by Miki | March 1, 2009

  5. Wowness. The stories he could tell. I’m reminded of Fred Astaire. There aren’t any orange hues, but I detect a warmth in this sketch.

    Comment by sittingpugs | March 2, 2009

  6. Hi Pug! My English language is rarely sophisticated enough to really understand your comments, but in this case I recognise the word “wow” so I will tale your comment as a compliment and I say a big thank you! 🙂
    I don’t know if you saw the series Carnivale where I first met my Friend the Little Man, but this is exactly how it begins: him telling a story! And I was fascinated from the very first instant…
    This is silly but since I ahve this fantasy of having him always by me in my pocket, with his head looking out, and telling me stories, giving me advices, etc… yeah, i would definitely love such a tiny little friend… unfortunately Michael Anderson is still too big to fit into my pocket, and he might anyway have other plans with his life…

    Comment by Miki | March 2, 2009

  7. This is a lovely pciture but I don’t even know the name of the actor or the series you mention, or recognise the face! My bad, as the Americans might say!

    Comment by viv66 | March 2, 2009

  8. Miki, I should clarify I think. When the picture first appeared on screen, and as I was scrolling down, I felt as if I was sitting in front of him by candle light–> the warmth.

    Comment by sittingpugs | March 2, 2009

  9. Thanks Pugs, but Kevin had clarified already… he is the intelligent part of US!

    Viv, I didn’t know the actor before either. Kevin did, of course. The series was a tip of one of his friends, an English comedian. The series is everything else than comic, in fact quite dark, and once again it was for me the proof that the clowns are the saddest people in the world!

    Comment by Miki | March 2, 2009

  10. Pugs, I forgot to sat that I loved the word “Wowness” and added it to my dictionary…

    Comment by Miki | March 2, 2009

  11. That’s one of the main actors from CARNIVALE! Wow, miki! I loved most of that series…

    Comment by iondanu | March 2, 2009

  12. I loved the series too… happy to see that you recognised Samson, Danu!

    Comment by Miki | March 3, 2009


Leave a Reply

