Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Norfolk Elephants…

I bet you didn’t know elephants lived wild in Norfolk…

I found this one wandering in the bus station at Norwich today…and the doctor’s tardis had landed on it too, poor dear.

Last year there was a massive art exhibition where huge numbers of local artists got to decorate the model elephants(they’re about the same size as a baby elephant) and they are now dispersed around the city. I think they were auctioned for charity.

I adored this one; I will post more if I come across them in my wanderings.

 

pict0302

February 21, 2009 - Posted by | Art, fun, life, nature, painting, personal, photo, random, Viv's Art | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Clearly, this Police box accepts trunk calls….
    I seem to remember a similar outbreak of “arted -up’ cows in Barcelona. I do quite like this one…being as you spotted it in a bus station, did you have to wait a while, and then three elephants came along at once?

    Comment by kevmoore | February 21, 2009

  2. Ah we’d used the park and ride and the buses are frequent!
    There were lots of them dotted all round the city centre during the summer so many of my students took pics of them. There was one that was udderly fabulous in the Royal Arcade, all mirrors and things.
    I think they were maybe inspired by the Barcelona cows..
    *trunk calls* …goes away sniggering!

    Comment by viv66 | February 21, 2009

  3. What a beautiful elephant!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 21, 2009

  4. Great one, Viv!
    And yes, it would be nice to see more of them, if you have the opportunity to catch them1

    Comment by Miki | February 22, 2009

  5. I sadly don’t know the new homes of all the heffalumps; one was in the main shopping area(covered in mirrors like a mirror ball) but it wasn’t there. Some have gone to galleries and some to collectors.
    If i see more, I will snap them.
    You can’t catch them; you have to coax them with sugar cane or bananas!

    Comment by viv66 | February 22, 2009


Leave a Reply

