Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Dark waters

Dark Waters

 

My own darkness rises to meet me:

As close as my own shadow and as dark.

No charm, no talisman, no prayer,

No kind words, no good intent,

No strong will, no firm purpose,

No amount of intellect or wit

Can even begin to save me.

Like a wall of water it rolls onward

Vast and unstoppable as the tides

That wash the shores each day.

The water fills my ears near to bursting

And I hold my breath as long as I can.

As I breathe out one final time,

Beyond the rushing waves that cover me

I’d swear I can hear whalesong.

by Viv

February 18, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, death, life, personal, poetry, psychology, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Viv, Another beautiful poem.
    But life isn’t all gloom and doom – life is for living.
    I’m waiting for some words of optimism.
    We love you.

    Comment by pastfirst | February 18, 2009

  2. Thank you.
    But there was optimism: whalesong in the last line!!!

    Comment by viv66 | February 18, 2009

  3. I agree with you, Viv, there is a lot of optimism in the last line. In MY dark waters I can´t hear any of that!

    Comment by Miki | February 18, 2009

  4. I have always loved whales and would love to hear one for real!

    Comment by viv66 | February 18, 2009

  5. Great poem, Viv! I love the ending. This reminds me of an affirmation I’ve been thinking about recently, something like “I let go of things easily, so better things can come.”

    Hearing a real one would be cool! But until that happens, I found this very nice recording: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QK-oIY4GDU0

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 18, 2009

  6. Didn’t the Monkees do a song about whales? I’ll have to look for that now. It didn’t turn up on a quick search.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 18, 2009

  7. For some reason I couldn’t update my flash player to be able to play this but will get back to it when my resident techie gets home from work.
    I dreamed very vividly about watching a great whale porpoising, leaping out of the water and splashing back in. I think it was a blue whale.
    I think you’re right that you do need to let go of things before something else can come. But it’s possible to let go to readily and before time.

    Comment by viv66 | February 18, 2009

  8. I found that Monkees song I was thinking about. It was the Porpoise Song, not a whale song 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 19, 2009

  9. Sorry. I didn’t realise. I’m happy for you.

    Comment by pastfirst | February 19, 2009

  10. That’s OK, Pastfirst. It wasn’t obvious anyway, just tucked in at the end.
    nice to see you here!

    Comment by viv66 | February 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

