Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Hornet

Hornet

 

The colours spell danger-

Yellow and black in bold stripes,

And the drone like a chainsaw,

Cartoon-ish, exaggerated madly.

An unmistakeable intruder,

Buzzing wildly and bumbling

From window to wall,

Every footfall audible

Like a prehistoric bug

Blundering into our modern room.

And yet, I feel no fear.

This insect, as big as my thumb,

Does not terrify me.

I feel simply wonder and love.

by Viv

February 10, 2009 - Posted by | animals, Cafe Literati, life, love, nature, personal, poetry, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Great poem, Viv!
    I had to look what a hornet is, but I looked after I had read the poem for a first time. I understood after some lines which kind of insect that might be… although at the beginning I did not know it was an insect and thought it was a poem about a tiger!
    I wished I could feel love for these creatures too, but I really can’t, much more the contrary! Wonder, yes, like about everything from nature. The hate comes above all from the sounds they do, it drives me mad!

    Comment by Miki | February 10, 2009

  2. Hornets are a protected insect in Britain, believe it or not. My brother is an entymologist, and I grew up with creepy crawlies of all sizes and shapes and rather than be fearful I learned to love them. His greatest love is butterflies and moths, and he runs a smal business out of the back garden greenhouse breeding tropical butterlfies and moths for collectors. If he and I go for a pub lunch in the summer and as we usually elect to sit outside, he has his pockets full of bug boxes which he traps wasps in for the duration of the meal and releases them when we go!
    When the hornet appeared in our bedroom last year I was briefly very scared as they are huge beyond imagining; this was a Queen hornet too, looking for somewhere to nest. But as I watched her in action, she seemed very peaceable and gentle and I lost that alarm.
    The only bug I really dislike and find hard to feel any love for is the mosquito. I’ve even overcome my dislike of cockroaches but mozzies have me sweating and slapping my skin; the whine sets my nerves on edge!
    Glad you liked it; it was the first hornet I had ever seen!

    Comment by viv66 | February 10, 2009

  3. As far as I understood it from all the English people who live around here, there are a lot of protected animals in the UK! So I believe you with the hornets!
    ut I can definitely not share your love to the insects… like many other people I guess, I feel quite disgusted by them. But I would be unable to kill even the tiniest among them. I can’t even kill a mosquito, never did in my life… i simply can’t!

    Comment by Miki | February 10, 2009

  4. I do kill mosquitoes, but that’s all. I usually just use a repellant; Badger Balms make a super anti-bug balm that works. Having lived in various areas of England that are low lying swamps (Norfolk, for example) you would be surprised that a form of malaria was common in these areas and I am not willing to take a chance. In old books, this English malaria was referred to as “ague” and while not fatal like the usual malaria can be, it did cause havoc.
    Oh there is one critter than has me shuddering and squealing like a girlie: ticks. Horrid horrid horrid. Yeuch! I got a tickbite many years ago and I nearly threw up when i found it on me. Even leeches don’t appal me the way ticks do!

    Comment by viv66 | February 10, 2009

  5. Oh yes, ticks! This was an horror of me too when I was living in Freiburg, Germany. And they quite loved our golf course around there.., a friend on mine got one playing. and I assisted to the extraction…
    A propos mosquitos… I have spent many months in Africa, Congo, and believe me, I know about malaria and other similar stuff… and I still couldn’t kill them! My own silliness!
    I guess I am very lucky to have survived them…

    Comment by Miki | February 10, 2009

  6. Karma maybe???

    Comment by viv66 | February 10, 2009


Leave a Reply

