Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

First Love?

minibar-piou-4a

by Le Piou de Pomme

Saturday!

Time again to sit at The MiniBar and admire a new piece of work painted by our youngest artist “Le Piou de Pomme”.

Unfortunately I have heard that he’s been a little bit poorly recently… well, I guess it is very cold right now where he lives in the North of France!

We all wish you to get better very soon, wonderful little man!

Personally I find this piece amazing. As an artist I am amazed by the extreme composition, and I guess there is hardly a grown-up artist who would dare to make such a one. And when I say “dare” I do mean it. Really, we should look more often at what our children draw and take some courage for an original and contrasting rich artistic style. By the way this applies to our lives too…

Without getting too deep into some psychological considerations, I wonder if this artistic ability of strong contrasts which Piou seems to have results from the extremely original and rich style of life which he is living within his family, thanks to his mother Pomme… I guess it has a lot to do with it!

I am intrigued too, quite deeply in fact, by the way how Piou featured the two characters on this drawing. The colours are exactly inverted by the girl and the boy. Why is it? Is it because the boy (which I assume is Piou himself) has blond hair and the girl black hair that he inverted the other colours on them?

And then, I would love to know why he painted the feet or shoes the way he did. I first thought that the boy is in fact standing on a little piece of garden, but then I saw the blue square piece by the girl… does that mean that she is standing on water? Does that mean that we have got it totally wrong with Jesus? That he was girl and not a boy?

And blue clouds” in a white sky? I thought it is white clouds in a blue sky!

God, Piou, you throw my whole knowledge overboard!

But at least I am happy to see that the persons have still 5 fingers on each hand… although… what happens really  with the girl’s right hand?

Anyway… I am given no titles for Piou’s paintings, so I will always have to give it one myself.  My feeling here is that this little boy on the drawing might in love with the little girl, and this is why I called it “First Love?”

You are welcome to propose some others, I am sure that Piou would love it!

by Miki

February 7, 2009 - Posted by | Art, children, drawing, family, friends, fun, Le Piou de Pomme, life, love, The MiniBar | , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Well, for a start the boy’s hairstyle is wicked! And the shoes? It’s quite clear to me that these two kinds are Glam Rock fans , and they’re wearing platform shoes, which are of course, de rigeur for the genre! Bon travail, Piou!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 7, 2009

  2. I love his composition! Who is this child and how old is he?

    Comment by psychscribe | February 7, 2009

  3. The child, Psych Is called “Le Piou de Pomme”. He is a little French boy, the son of my best friend in France. He is 6 years old. A wonderful little guy, full of love and tenderness in his eyes… I am his godmother now!!!

    Comment by Miki | February 7, 2009

  4. Oh, how wonderful that you’re his godmother!! He’s a lucky boy.

    Comment by psychscribe | February 8, 2009

  5. Wow!!! What a fabulous work of art!!!

    I’m wondering about the inversion of colours, Miki. I simply thought maybe he only had a few colours to use and he inverted the colours on the girl/boy so they wouldn’t look the same, or like they are wearing uniforms.

    At six years old, maybe he’s not too concerned about composition and fitting his subjects completely on the page. I think he just added the girl after he drew the boy (maybe so he wouldn’t be lonely?)

    In any case, no matter how we try to nterpret the mind of the artist, on thing is clear: he surely had a lot of fun drawing this piece!!!

    I just love the page he made!! Tell him he’s got lots of fans here in Cafe Crem, including one all the way over in Canada! :)))

    Comment by Bonny | February 8, 2009

  6. Guten Abend Bonny!

    Your interpretation of Piou’s picture made me smile a lot! Great explanation with the only few colours available! I will have to ask how it was…
    And as for the composition… you might be right too 🙂
    But I still believe that there is some love in the air there…
    And yes, this work is so full of fun, I especially Love the expression of the hands.
    I will tell Piou about his fans in Cafe Crem and believe me, he and his mother will be over the moon… both are intensely lovely people!

    Comment by Miki | February 8, 2009

  7. Gently go into the your dreams and awake to find they have found expression in the real world.

    Children have so much to teach us. It’s profoundly moving.

    Thanks Piou.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | February 8, 2009

  8. Hello everybody !
    I read you comments, I read the lovely text of Miki and I thank you all.
    This picture is on a page of a “book” where he learns to write.
    So no enough place for the right arm.
    It’s just a “pratic” raison.

    Piou is always in love with a girl. For this moment, she is in his imagination. I present her : Marie.

    I can beleive he forgets the foot. I think he wants to say : they can’t walk.
    I hope you will understand what I mean !

    For the moment he is with his father but I will translate every thing here this evening.

    Comment by reinedespommes | February 8, 2009

  9. I REALLY adored this composition, Pomme, and I am glad hat there was no room for the right arm!
    I don’t believe he forgot the foot… this is a deeper message!
    But at least I was right with him being in love! Marie… wonderful soft and romantic name for his fiancée… suits to him!

    Comment by Miki | February 8, 2009

  10. Oh Miki ! please translate this :

    Je demande à Piou ce que sont les “pavés” au niveau des pieds :
    “ce sont les pantalons, le gros vent les a fait tomber”
    Je crois que je vais montrer à Piou une paire de bretelles ! 😆

    Comment by reinedespommes | February 8, 2009

  11. What a laugh we just had Kevin and me, Pomme!

    For the English speaking Cafe Cremers:
    Pomme asked her son Piou what are these green and blue rectangles where the feet should be. He answered:

    They are their trousers, the wind blew them down!”

    Pomme thinks she should now show Piou a pair of braces!

    Comment by Miki | February 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

