Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

A new proverb

vivs-drawings-and-paintings-030

 

“There’s nothing wiser than a sleeping cat!”

I came out with this gem last night; not at all sure where it came from but it has a certain ring of truth about it.

The two little sketches above are of two of my cats. The one on the left is Robin, my white and black ex-tom, and the one on the right is Clara, my dark tortoiseshell queen. Clara was a cat we rescued and while I loved her dearly, I didn’t mourn her when she died, two years ago. She suffered, we are sure now, from feline dementia and while she lived to a grand age of 16, she was not “all there” for many of the 8 years she lived with us. She did however have a great gift that continued despite her mental decline; she could make any guest feel special and privileged. She would approach someone sitting in our home and be so sweet and friendly that it put people at their ease, unlike my beloved Watson who various of our friends and relations were frankly terrified of. If Clara came and sat on your knee, you felt like a small furry angel had descended on you; if Watson sat on you, you didn’t move a muscle in case he turned into a tiger and ate you all up.

But I had a bond with Watson that I never had with Clara. We knew each other, warts and all. Watson sat with me through some of the hardest times in my life, a few feet away so as not to intrude on my pain, but close enough so I knew he was there. I sat up with both of them as they lay dying. Watson passed while I slept next to him, dozing off exhausted. Clara kept me by her side until the last moment, when, uncharacteristically, she bit me. I think I was the first and last person she had ever bitten.

I have no idea where this post came from or where it goes or what it means, if anything, other than I miss my cat still.

February 6, 2009 - Posted by | animals, death, drawing, God in our life, life, love, personal, Proverbs and Sayings, random, Viv's Art, writing | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Never doubt where something comes from viv. I see that your always searching for the answer to that question. Do you know why?

    The Proverb is indeed a good one and I know that it will slip quietly into my mind and at the right moment somewhere, sometime it will be there to use.

    That is how I know something is good.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | February 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

