Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Wishing Well

cnv000231

 

I have heard it said that you must throw a coin into a certain fountain in the city of Rome to ensure you will one day return there.

I’ve never been to Rome and probably never will; this photo is of What The Romans Did For Us. It’s a view of the cold plunge bath at the end of the bath complex at Aque Sulis, AKA the city of Bath. Clearly the impulse to throw coins into a watery grave is a strong one as the floor of this venerable pool was covered in a fair few quid’s worth of coins in many different currencies.

Before you ask, yes, I too hurled a coin and made a wish or two. I didn’t wish especially to come back there, though I do hope to, as it was one of the best days ever. If Fortune Favours this Brave, then I may be going back in May, assuming some Italians are daft enough to want to do a six day tour of Roman Britain, but that’s in the laptops of the gods right now!

That aside, I was thinking of worldwide wishing practises and wondering what people think…..

February 5, 2009 - Posted by | culture, events, friends, fun, life, personal, photo, Proverbs and Sayings, psychology, random, Viv's Art, women, writing | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I would also be interested in knowing about worldwide wishing practices… none is coming to my mind right now though, except the one with throwing a coin into a fountain. I did it myself in a mountain fountain some years ago, in a beautiful place called Fuentes del Algar, not very far from Benidorm. Not that I believed in anything, but sometimes it is nice to follow such practices…

    By the way, Viv: I am wondering how you can say that you will probably never go to Rome… you are still so young… and don’t all roads lead to Rome?

    Comment by Miki | February 5, 2009

  2. Not the ones I follow!!!

    Comment by viv66 | February 5, 2009

  3. To clarify, Rome is not high on my list of places I’d like to see; in fact, it’s quite a long way down. I’m not a city person at all and from every account I have had from friends it’s not my kind of place. This is from the woman who didn’t like Paris much at all, by the way.

    Comment by viv66 | February 5, 2009

  4. I just need a lift to Rome that’s all Viv!!!
    Any ideas?

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | February 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

