Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Philosophy Sketches Project

In keeping with the creative fires of collaboration that are cutting an artistic swathe through Cafe Crem right now, I submit a video project here that strives to present our very own Michael Pokocky’s philosophical sketches in a new and unusual way.  That is to say, I have set them to music, and “performed” a narrative to accompany them. it was a most interesting challenge, and I hope you like the results. Cafe Crem: once again greater than the sum of its parts!

Words and images © Michael Pokocky

Music © Kev Moore 2009

February 4, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Ca' Puccini, Cafe L'Arte, humor, illustrations, Kev Moore's Music, life, Michaels' Philosophical Sketches, Music, video, writing | , , , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. I always loved so much Michael’s Philosophical Sketches, and now I am so happy to see them in this context. I am amazed about this collaborative work which is taking place in Cafe Crem right now.. even more than I ever dreamt, and this means a lot!

    Again, Kev Moore, you have made a great job here. I adored the letter “T” flying through the screen featuring the “Masercard” sketch… such a wonderful humour!

    I hope Michael will love ll that as much as I do!

    Comment by Miki | February 4, 2009

  2. Thank you Miki! These collaborations are really taking me into new areas, and I want to publicly thank Michael, Susan, and Shelley for the opportunity to do these works, I’m having a lot of fun!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 4, 2009

  3. Very nice! Michael’s sketching style is so delightful, and it is very interesting to hear Kev’s speaking voice (as opposed to the singing voice). Who does that other voice belong to, near the beginning?

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 4, 2009

  4. Well, that’s me too, Shelley! (although it sounds mysteriously like Mildew Bookworm, who narrates some of the tales from Miki and I….) Technological wizardry!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 4, 2009

  5. Amazing, to sound like a child again! Perhaps you will get Miki to do some narrating on a project for you? It is wonderful to have voices to put with the faces 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 4, 2009

  6. THank you Michael and Kev! It seems like the words, sketches and music were designed to go together from the very beginning. You’ve captured so much wisdom and humor in your little pen sketches Michael! Kev, I could listen to your voice all day. Have you a past in theatre that I haven’t heard about yet?

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | February 4, 2009

  7. Shelley, click on this link and you can hear Miki’s beautiful French tones over my music, introducing her 3D Gallery!
    http://www.goodaboom.com/3DGallery.html

    Susan:you’re too kind! I would’ve loved to have done some acting, its probably no surprise my son excels in Drama!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 4, 2009

  8. [repost of my comment on Kev’s YouTube channel http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Oju4evMD3U%5D

    I must admit I waited in anticipation across the pond; you in Spain and I in Canada. This is such a nice gift Kev and the personality you brought to humble written words makes this collaboration that really shakes one up.

    I sense your passion in this like I do in everything you do; such a rare and infectious gift.

    I hope that we reach at least one person and find a life changed in the fork in the road. God only knows how many so few can touch with this video.

    Kindest,
    Michael

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | February 4, 2009

  9. Michael, I sensed YOUR passion in these sketches and words, and hope I gave them a voice. It was a singular pleasure!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 4, 2009

  10. Another fabulous video, Kev!! I really enjoy looking at these with my coffee and relaxing into the moment, the here and now yo so eloquently express in your lyrics.

    Michael. I love your sketches, always have. Do you ever think of publishing them all together in some kind of comic book form? A kind of artbook about philosophical thoughts and moments? I think that would very cool!

    Comment by Bonny | February 4, 2009

  11. Thank you for the link Kev. Very nice to hear the beautiful Miki!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | February 4, 2009

  12. Loved this you guys! Thanks for the twit feed to it.

    Comment by lbtowers | February 5, 2009

  13. […] Moore is a rock star musician from Spain and we met at Cafe Crem.  Michael is a writer from […]

    Pingback by The Philosophy Sketches « One More Day | February 6, 2009

  14. […] Moore is a rock star musician from Spain and we met on Cafe Crem.   Michael is a writer from Canada. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)I am a […]

    Pingback by The Philosophy Sketches « MIKE ON THE ROAD | February 6, 2009

  15. Kev you said, “Michael, I sensed YOUR passion in these sketches and words, and hope I gave them a voice. It was a singular pleasure!”

    Thank you and like-wise.

    The irony is I always doodled and then one day went out to order the blank business cards on a lark. It was just to have fun and never could have imagined it morphing into a collaboration.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | February 8, 2009

  16. – and I think the greatest and most effective collaborations come about in exactly such an unforced way, it’s what gives them their power.

    Comment by kevmoore | February 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

