Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Lazy Poet

He went through life oblivious

To all good things

That were his fortune to behold

The beauty of a summers morning

The joy at seeing children

Welcomed back into the fold

The sight of two old people

Walking hand in hand

Or swallows heading southwards

In the sky

Never seemed enough

To stir his hand to writing

He’d just observe, in passing, with a sigh

And all this depth of wonder

Washed in silent splendour

O’er his heart

He never grasped the need

To write it down, and play his part

For there are wonders in this world

that someday maybe lost

We fail to tell about them at our peril…

…And the cost to each man’s soul

Each infinitesimal  amount

Diminishes by sad degrees

Just what we are about

So the old, old lazy poet

In the autumn of his years

Pledged to write of childhood dreams

And all his hopes and fears

But all too little, much too late

As preparing now to meet his fate

He watched the cloud formations in the sky

And he put aside his pen and let a tear roll down his cheek

Onto the empty page, the lazy poet died.

© Kev Moore, 10am, in bed, 11/07/06

January 30, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe Literati, death, Kev Moore's Poetry, life, poetry, random, writing | , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Que ce texte est beau !

    Comment by reinedespommes | January 30, 2009

  2. So sad.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 30, 2009

  3. very sad indeed.
    again I think of Syd Barret.

    Comment by viv66 | January 30, 2009

  4. I really need to work on my fairytale endings you know..I’m always so tempted to end my stories and poems on a downer…perhaps more in common with “our Sid” than I realise!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  5. ..et Pomme – Merci beaucoups pour les bon mots! (I think)

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  6. I couldn’t translate emotion Kevin,… I said that yout text is so lovely.
    Don’t worry for the ends, I think it’s because you don’t want that any story end (I’m not sure it’s good).

    Comment by reinedespommes | January 30, 2009

  7. Je comprends tes mots francais, Pomme, mais les mots de Kevin en Francais – je ne sais pas…. 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  8. En tous cas, Pomme et Kevin, moi j’adore vos conversations, que ce soit en Français ou en Anglais…

    Comment by Miki | January 30, 2009

  9. “He ate the Elephant!”

    Comment by viv66 | January 30, 2009

  10. Now my dictionary doesn’t give me any clue what you mean here with the eaten Elephant, Viv!
    Help!

    Comment by Miki | January 30, 2009

  11. Sorry Miki.
    It’s from a Sid Barret song, The Effervescing Elephant.
    “An effervescing elephant with tiny eyes and great big trunk…..”
    It’s the story of how the tiger came to the jungle and filled all the animals with fear of being eaten…
    “The tiger said, ‘It isn’t true, I wouldn’t eat not one of you, I much prefer something to chew,’- He ate the elephant!”
    It’s a very catchy little tune with a black and funny ending…

    Comment by viv66 | January 30, 2009

  12. Je te reçois 5 sur 5 Kevin 😉

    Miki, moi aussi j’adore !!

    Comment by reinedespommes | January 30, 2009

  13. I relate to, “He’d just observe, in passing, with a sigh

    And all this depth of wonder

    Washed in silent splendour

    O’er his heart.”

    I am by nature lazy but when I am moved by passion I have to work really hard and fast to capture all that is coming. So I to believe in The Lazy Poets process__”I act only as observer.”

    Comment by Michael | January 31, 2009


Leave a Reply

