Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Bullfighting is a Mug’s Game!

bullfighting-is-a-mugs-game-s

I am very proud to present you today one of the products which The Bay Attic in Scotland have created especially for my

Bull and Bullfighting Art site.

I have received these two mugs, yesterday, together with some other wonderful products which I will present in my site there. These cups are simply wonderful, beautiful quality and design.

Right now Kevin is making coffee and we will use these cups for the first time, here, in Cafe Crem, right now!

Cheers and Ole!

PS: Please don’t start here discussing bullfight as such… if you want to do that, I have a special blog

Amour Toro

where your comments (positive and negative) are most welcome!

By Miki

January 30, 2009 - Posted by | animals, Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, culture, fun, Miki's Paintings, personal, photography | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. These are gorgeous, Miki! Yay! I’d imagine you are far past your first cup of coffee today…but, Cheers!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 30, 2009

  2. I love them , Shelley, and we are waaaay past our first cup! (She’s getting me to put the kettle on again!)

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  3. They are very handsome.
    Not about bullfighting as such but has anybody here heard Flanders and Swan’s version of the olive stuffing ceremony. with its olivardors and all? very funny indeed. Highly recommended. We brought up only child on the humour of F+S and she went on to the Goons etc. It probably accounts for a lot…

    Comment by viv66 | January 30, 2009

  4. Crikey, Viv….you have very interesting retro comedic tastes! I had very little in common with my own parents humour (save perhaps Norman Wisdom) Although I like some Goons/Sellers/Milligan humour, I grew up loving Monty Python, which as a 50 year-old, was my era, and which my kids also love, but I think they’d view Flanders and Swann as something from another planet! My Dad would wander round the house singing “I’m a Gnu” – causing me to cringe with embarrassment!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  5. My daughter grew up singing the Philosopher’s Song around Nursery school…. I’m not sure any of her teachers knew who John Stewart Mill was even, or why he should on half a pint of shandy be particularly ill. I think they did know who Socrates was though. I’m not sure even now she’s even seen any Python though. We didn’t get a tv till she was 5..
    The main body of F+S humour is actually very intellectual and very thought-provoking. We happen to own the entire collection of At the Drop of a Hat, At the Drop of another Hat and the Bestiary and Extiary on CD. I play the Song of Patrisotic Prejudice to the occasional class of advanced students, ostensibly to start a discussion on prejudice and racism but really to watch in silent hysterics as their respective jaws drop in horror as the song insults every nation.
    I have also played the Gnu song, to illustrate how pronunciation of certain words is changed by popular usage; Gnu was previously pronounced as Nu before F+S got their hands on it.
    I’m not a massive Goons fan, but did like some of it; herself has most of the shows on tape bought with Christmas and birthday money.

    Comment by viv66 | January 30, 2009

  6. I think the Philosophers song taught me more names of philosophers than any teacher could! Whilst I agree that F&S liked to wear their intellectualism on their sleeve, it was still all a bit British Empire to me! It’s quite fascinating how, when you take humour out of its context with relation to its own era, it can be cringeworthy (even if it purports to be irony) I’m thinking “Love thy neighbour” -would they dare show that now?

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  7. Oh definitely.
    But compared to today’s offerings of so-called satire like Little Britain, it does seem also quite tame and gentle, for all the colonialism. We are all a product of our time.
    I did once think of updating 20tons of TNT for a review at college but gave up.
    I remember bumping into Tony Booth (from LTN, and also Cherie Blair’s dad) at Newmarket Races once when I was a kid; he was in a bad mood(lost) and didn’t speak to me. No, they’d never show that again.
    I also bumped into someone at the Eurotunnel terminal before Christmas who knew Cherie as a girl; good Catholic my right arsecheek is all I can say!

    Comment by viv66 | January 30, 2009

  8. Have you noticed the similarity between Cherie Blair and the cartoon rendering of Cruella de Ville in 101 Dalmations? Separated at birth? The question remains….

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  9. hmm…. goes off to ponder….

    Comment by viv66 | January 30, 2009

  10. These are beautiful, Miki. I hope to get one in the future as I know a couple people who travel to Scotland periodically. I’ll be sure to let you know if I manage it!

    Madame Monet

    Comment by wpm1955 | January 31, 2009

  11. Good morning Madame Monet!
    A lovely comment you write to me here!
    The thing with the bullfight mugs is following: the art company is Scotland designed them for me and my bullfight art site. I am the one who sell them in the internet through my site Bullfighting Art
    Although they sell a lot of products featuring my art too there… but they are more delivering to bigger companies than to particulars.

    Comment by Miki | January 31, 2009

  12. I have visited the site and once again I am amazed at Miki’s prodigious output. I can see now how she uses the Net to maximize the results she wants to get__boy it also amazes me how she finds the time.

    I hope she will give us some insight into this.

    I am also very impressed with the quality and perfection she puts into everything she does__I really want to know how you find the time, how you manage it and what your typical day is like.

    Comment by Michael | January 31, 2009

  13. Hi Michael…

    How I find the time:

    To start with I am quite free, and can do what I really want with most of my time. This is something I never stop fighting for in my life, but of course the price for this freedom is sometimes very high…

    Then I dedicate almost all my time to my profession. To my work in “the real world” and in internet. Again the price is very high: no time left for all my other interests like reading for example… but at least now I have Café Literati to fulfil this need!!!!

    I never lose time doubting or hesitating. I have a strong will and intuition about what I should do and what not, both work fantastically well together and always in the same direction. This makes a lot of work done in a reasonable amount of time.

    I work very fast, and very intensively, and I can do it a long long time without any break. The result being an impressive amount of work.

    I like good work and good presentations. Whatever I do, I try to follow these rules. But I am not a perfectionist. Perfection costs too much time and energy, and the result is not always a win.

    Concerning the use of the net: I have been working at it for now about 15 months, and indeed it works great for me. But only because I am ready to put much work on it, continuously, never allowing me a doubt (not always easy!).
    I have built my presence in the internet according one principle: to be at the places where I can be found.

    Comment by Miki | January 31, 2009


Leave a Reply

