Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Another Brick in The Wall…

minibar-piou-6

by Le Piou de Pomme

Hello everybody!

I invite you to come and take a drink at the Minibar.

Our youngest artist Le Piou de Pomme is exhibiting here a new drawing, to which I – his proud godmother – have given the title of that wonderful song by Pink Floyd. I will never forget how I was listening to it on loop while I was travelling by night through the North of Norway, on my way to the Northern Lights….

Anyway, the more I look at this picture the more fascinated I am. Really, take time and look at everything there. Each detail is so enjoyable,  sometimes even a big mystery, and the featured characters have such a strong expression by simple means.

I adore the two people on the bottom  putting their fingers in their ears… not to hear the plane in the sky?

I also adore the little cool and relaxed figure on the bottom right, like an impartial observer.. the artist himself perhaps?

And the one on the ground?

And the bricks on the wall!!! Absolutely wonderful!

And the door, no more belonging to the house it seems…

I am generally not an adept of taking art, poetry, music, etc, into pieces, but in this case I cannot help to observe everything.

I would be happy to hear your comments about this adorable picture, and anyway:

we should all support and welcome  our young artists from the MiniBar!

Piou, I love your drawings and I love you!

************************************************************************************

31.01.2008 Supplemental

Yesterday I asked  Pomme, Piou’s mother, if she could ask Piou what he had in his mind as he made this great drawing. Pomme translated to Piou this post and the first comments Kevin and me left, and here are their own comments and explanations :

  • les deux enfants ne se bouchent pas les oreilles, ils font une grimace.

(Il a représenté là des jumeaux qui ont été longtemps ses amis et l’ont mis de côté maintenant …)

The two children don’t put their fingers on their ears, they are making a face.

(He has featured twins who had been his friends for a long time and ignored him now…}

  • L’avion ne fait aucun bruit !

The plane isn’t making any sound!

  • C’est bien lui qui est représenté en avant du dessin (toujours habillé)

It is really Piou himself in the foreground (always wearing clothes)

  • le personnage par terre il s’est fait taper par les jumeaux et le personnage à part sur la droite va venir le chercher.

The character on the ground has been beaten by the twins and the character on the right side is coming to gather him.

  • Quant à la porte, c’est la porte du jardin!

As for the door, it is the door to the garden!

************************************************************************************

By Miki

January 30, 2009 - Posted by | Art, children, drawing, Le Piou de Pomme, painting, Parents and Children, personal, The MiniBar | , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. I love the little guy rolling around on the floor….looks like me when Miki’s said something funny! Piou, c’est un joli dessin! Bravo!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  2. Yes, this is true! Kevin looks exactly like him: the thin line, the bold head… 🙂

    Comment by Miki | January 30, 2009

  3. Look away now everyone – as I whack Miki over the head with a saucepan….

    Comment by kevmoore | January 30, 2009

  4. 😆
    ho ! I laught !!!
    I will translate tomorrow to Piou everything you write here.

    I’m sure he will be happy. (et fier)

    I think the guy with his long arms is Piou, because he has a shirt. (each time he represente himself, he is never “tout nu”)
    (ho my poooor english !)
    (please Miki help me !)

    Comment by reinedespommes | January 30, 2009

  5. Yes, I can hear your laugh Pomme, and it sound wonderful in the MiniBar!

    He is never “tout nu”: he is never totally naked

    But are you telling me here that all the others are naked? Kevin too?

    Comment by Miki | January 30, 2009

  6. 😳 yes … Kevin is naked too !!

    Comment by reinedespommes | January 31, 2009

  7. Then close your eyes instead of opening than very wide and getting red, Pomme!!!!
    Piou is totally right, the plane does not make any sound. C’est de toute évidence un planeur l’avion, pas un avion à moteur.
    This is funny, the more I look at this drawing, the more amazed I am. So many details, so many feelings expressed throught the attitudes, the stairs, the door, the window…
    I still don’t know what is the big rectangle in the house on the upper right corner… Piou’s Bedroom?

    Comment by Miki | January 31, 2009

  8. Piou says : it’s a peace of wall, just that !

    Comment by reinedespommes | January 31, 2009

  9. I think kids just draw or paint and have no idea of what they are doing. They will always have an answer if you ask them, but you have to ask (and the answers will change each time). At least that is my observation of four children.

    Wonderful drawing Piou. I look forward to your next one.
    Keep going little buddy.

    Comment by Michael | January 31, 2009

  10. You are certainly right, Michael, with the answers changing each time! But I find all these answers so interesting and fascinating, a direct insight into brain processes somehow…

    Comment by Miki | January 31, 2009

  11. Michael, I’ll do the test in many days, and I’ll say the “new” version here.
    I think you’re right but my son, sometimes, has to exprime (?) his feeling and he explains to me the draw.
    So, many days after, he can say exactly the same things about his draw.

    Comment by reinedespommes | February 1, 2009

  12. This is a great idea, Pomme! I would be really interested to see the results…
    exprime is called “express’ in English.
    Pomme, listen to the song and look at the video which Kevin has made with Shelley, one of our Cafe Cremers!

    Comment by Miki | February 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

