Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Happy birthday Bonny

Happy Birthday Bonny

Happy Birthday Bonny

on bended knee
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
shattered and broken
i walk a trodden path
and find myself
endured

i can’t accept this pact
on bended knee
deep in mud
my belly empty
my will weakened

yet i continue
the fall rain comes
with winds beating me down
and my spirit is so far from me now

i see in the distance
a small village
there i find shelter and food
but not for me

upon arriving i find one weaker than i
and i deliver him upon the steps
and fall under his weight
i am conscious no more

when i awake he is standing there beside me
like a friend i’ve known for many years
he seems so beautiful
and his eyes translucent
and his skin pure

do not move he says
nor speak
i know you know
let me give drink
and i shall tell you my story

and he did
and my spirit found me near
and my eyes filled with tears
for he was the man i had carried
i remembered now

ah yes i knew you would
and taking my hand in his he said
you carried me when all was forgotten

i knew i had forgotten my friend
the one true person in my life i could trust
i felt the shame he did not want me to feel
and i felt the humility he did not want me to endure

when i awoke he was gone
and i felt better now and stronger
clarity of mind had come
and i remembered it was not a dream

he never returned again
but i never stopped to forget our friendship
i never felt shame but taught others to be proud
i used humility as my currency
wherever my journey would take me
and i never had a moment of doubt
that it was he that i carried that night

i had been waiting all my life to be blessed
and learned to find blessings in everything I did instead
I had wandered of the path when weakened
only to have found strength
in all the broken places

i lived out my life in joy and happiness
i showed him that i knew i had understood
i never backed down from the hardships
destiny had given me
and when my time came
it was he who i called for
and noticed that there were so many others
that answered the call as well_mp 2005

January 27, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, friends, humor, life, Michael Pokocky's Poetry, personal, photo, poetry | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. This reminds me of a dream I had many many years ago…

    Comment by viv66 | January 27, 2009

  2. Michael;

    This is such a beautiful poem. It struck a chord deep within me and I have felt the same as the figure in the poem. It is an experience that stays with you.

    Thank you for this poem. I like the phot of you, too.

    Bonny

    Comment by Bonny | January 27, 2009

  3. Wow. This had me spellbound, both the language and the story.

    Comment by psychscribe | January 27, 2009

  4. Michael, thanks for posting this. Poetry is so haunted by the ghosts of the Epic Poem and iambic pentameter that most people are too afraid to attempt anything. That’s why, to my mind, poetry today is at its best when deconstructed and the rules of rhyme and rhythm are left to the ancients.

    It requires courage to write poetry such as yours. The inspiration is strong. Thanks again; may the muses smile on you.

    +Cameron

    Comment by Cameron Wilding | January 28, 2009

  5. Uplifting, Michael, a sadness transcended.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 28, 2009


Leave a Reply

