Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Strange Costumes – A new Collaboration

Words can’t express how exciting it is to create with my friends in Cafe Crem!  Certainly, from my perspective, it affords me a wonderful new window on my work, and how I approach music making and songwriting. This latest project was inspired by the haunting words of our very own Shelley. Her latest piece, which she previewed here some days ago and shown here again, is the beginning of her exciting “Altered Book project” – and I believe it is alive with possibilities. The song you will hear when you click on the link is my interpretation, word for word  – of Shelley’s piece. Enjoy!

Strange Costumes – The Song

© 2009 Music by Kev Moore, Lyrics by Shelley M House

strangecostumes1-500

January 26, 2009 - Posted by | Art, books, Ca' Puccini, Cafe L'Arte, Kev Moore's Music, Music, nature, random, Shelley's Creations, writing | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I absolutely love your song, Kev! I am still amazed that you were able to make these words work, the phrasing and all. The drums are great, and the background sounds — birds, water — are perfect!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 26, 2009

  2. I’m so happy you like it Shelley. The words work because of how you wrote them…as soon as I read them I started to envisage the song. I also liked the way it naturally led me into the speaking sections of it. A lot of fun to do!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 26, 2009

  3. I totally love this song too, Shelley and Kevin! From my point of view Kevin has exactly created, with music, voices and composition, the atmosphere which I felt when I read Shelley’s Strange Costumes the first time.
    I feel there a deep connection between two great artists, and I hope with all my heart that this adventure will go on.
    I am very thankful to you, Shelley, for having inspired such a song to Kevin. It is a new style for him, and everything new, and so beautifully new, is such an enrichment.
    Simply marvellous and I am really impressed, by both of you!

    Comment by Miki | January 27, 2009

  4. This is fantastic. It feels like the start of something beyond awesome.
    Just a tiny note, for Shelley, there’s a typo. “Souring escape” should be soaring escape.
    Thank you both!

    Comment by viv66 | January 27, 2009

  5. I am sooo impressed by both of you. The song gave me chills. The collaboration is just wonderful!

    Comment by psychscribe | January 27, 2009

  6. Thanks Psyche & Viv – I really enjoyed doing it!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 27, 2009

  7. Now I’m even more excited about our upcoming collaboration kev! Shelley, your piece blends human and animal nature so seamlessly. Being a bird lover myself it really speaks to me. And Kev, you have captured such a vast array of emotions, lending a kind of passion to this piece which gives it a new voice. Very haunting. . .

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | January 29, 2009

  8. Thanks for your lovely words, Susan, I’ve really found it wonderful for my creative diversity, the projects with Miki, then you, and now Shelley, it certainly send me down roads I would perhaps not have travelled musically, and I’m grateful for that, and if I’ve helped contribute to all your wonderful ideas, that’s a double bonus!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 29, 2009


Leave a Reply

