Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Moving swiftly on….

I’ve been trying to get past my anger and have got very wet trying to stomp it away in the rain. But anger solves nothing and it was beginning to make me feel ill. Quite ill indeed.

So I have decided to take this as further incentive to find a job that suits me perfectly and took my daughter’s advice and had a look at the OU website and found the absolute perfect peach of a job, for which I have all the neccessary qualifications and experience, not to mention the enthusiasm for the subject.

It would bring me much joy to land such a job. That’s putting it mildly. So later today I will start the complex and stressful process of applying for this job.

And then, if I can, I shall let it go and see what Fate decides.

I have my new project to focus on. I shall say a little bit about it because from snippets I have read here,  the subject will be of special interest to Susan. And probably others, but since I don’t know everyone very well(or at all) I can’t tell!

Basically, I am aiming to write a book of meditations using aromatic substances from the humble slice of bread to the rare and exotic incenses of the East as a starting point. I have (polishes nails modestly) a great deal of background knowledge on both aromatics and on meditation, and as a creative writer, combining the two will be an exciting and enthralling project. It also has the advantage of being possible to do it in manageable chunks and not one huge continuous narrative strand that takes up all my attention all of the time, as happens when producing a novel.    

And just for those chocolate lovers out there(you know who you are!) I will be doing a meditation using chocolate.

It goes without saying, coffee will also be on the menu!

January 22, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati

9 Comments »

  1. Your new book project sounds so yummy, Viv! I will be very excited about that, to be sure!

    I’m glad to hear your anger has given you incentive to turn in another direction. Or should I say, find your direction. Although I do like the idea of a good stomp in the rain, it will leave a person a bit cold.

    Charge on with your new sword!

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 22, 2009

  2. Find a photographer. How? Go directly to some essence house or even a magazine article to the professional photo sites and collaborate with one two or many. This will work.

    Comment by Michael | January 22, 2009

  3. Nice thought Michael but the publishing house I am working with is likely to have their own for that.
    Funny but my daughter said much the same thing, because a good picture would be very helpful.
    I don’t think any of their books has anything more than black and white pics. It’s not their area. Shame.

    Comment by viv66 | January 22, 2009

  4. Yes, this idea sounds great. And yummy as Shelley says.
    Why don’t you do some black and white watercolours or drawings, fine ones, like the amethyst one but in black and white? It looked great. This would be more attractive than photos, even in B&W. You could try one and send it to them with the text sample… one never knows!

    Comment by Miki | January 22, 2009

  5. Further to the idea of photography, I read once about a man that could write great verse. He also loved looking at photos of wild animals made by professional photographers. So he got the idea to merge his talent for writing with his passion for photos of animals to create a book. He went looking for these great photographers who’s work he admired and presented them with his idea of a coffee table book with pictures or wild animals and his writing that accompanied each photograph. It was a success and he went on to produce a few more which made him millions of dollars because he self published. Today I believe he owns a publishing house, a film production company and has moved into films.

    Comment by Michael | January 23, 2009

  6. I see what you mean, Michael. I was thinking that B&W drawings or fine watercolours panting would be more appealing because of the subject (herbs, bread, …).
    But funny is that when I was writing that I had your B&W photos in my head and remembered how beautiful B& photos can look!
    So I am not really sure what would be the best, but I guess, as always, it depends of the quality of the drawings/photos.

    The story you tell us is great. I just wonder if this could still happen nowadays…

    Comment by Miki | January 23, 2009

  7. I really appreciate the suggestions and will take them on board but I suspect that I may have some say but not the final one.
    I have just spent the last four and a half hours doing an application form and I feel wrecked!
    I forgot to say what the job is that I am going for. It’s a part time post with the OU, teaching,,,,,,*drum rolls* creative writing. I have mentioned (not by name, sorry) the Cafe Crem experience as a part of my “why you should give me this job cos I’m perfect” resume bit of the form.
    I need to crash out now!
    Wil check, double check and triple check the form over the weekend and send it in on Sunday night. Thank god for the internet. Oh and most of it is via online forums and no face to face tutorials. exctiing huh?

    Comment by viv66 | January 23, 2009

  8. Good luck, Viv!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 23, 2009

  9. Yes, Viv, this is exciting! And as Kevin said, GOOD LUCK!

    Comment by Miki | January 23, 2009


Leave a Reply

