Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Bubble Boy – 7 –

bubble-boy-07-s

Bubble Boy - 7 - , by Miki

(Original German Version)

(Bubble Boy – 1 –)     (Bubble Boy – 6 –)

Bub heard an awful scream and saw how something moved on the pole. This thing wore a big pointy hat, and under the hat, two big eyes almost touching each other above a great a big bulbous nose and a half opened, toothless mouth stared at Bub in an incredibly silly way.

Well, the pole, the hat, the eyes, the big nose and the toothless mouth belonged to a little witch called Barbra Cadabra. You surely know what a witch is and you might even have met Barbra Cadabra before, in another story under another name, as they are quite common in the Universe. Some even say that more than half of the earth’s population are more or less well disguised witches.. Anyway…Barbra until some seconds ago, was comfortably sleeping on her broom stick, dreaming of crystal balls. And yes of course, the flying object, although it didn´t look quite right, was nevertheless a real broomstick, and the thing on the pole was a real witch. Still a little bit little, though, and somewhat inexperienced in the fabrication of broomsticks and the more general art of witchcraft, but a really real witch, like the ones you normally meet in fairie tales.

Excepting the three and a half billion witches on Earth, of course… But you may ask now: what was she doing tonight flying around in the sky instead of sleeping comfortably in her bed in her castle, like proper small witches do?  The thing was that Barbra needed a very special crystal ball and it was written in her witches guide book that such balls could be only found in night skies by the full moon, and even then quite rarely. This was the reason why some days ago, our Barbra, never thinking twice before acting,  had at once climbed on her broomstick and set off on a long journey through the night sky, hoping to find her special crystal ball.

You may further ask why in the hell Barbra needed such a rare ball? Well… it’s a quite shameful story, and I will tell it to you in a low voice so that Barbra, who is a very sensitive witch, doesn´t get offended. Listen and don´t laugh, please, at least not too loudly: some days ago, in one of her witch seances, in which she was trying to get the sun from behind the thick clouds, she had spoken the wrong spell and the sun had totally disappeared, it was simply gone! The result being that it was always night in BarbraCadabraland!

And this was why Barbra had climbed upon her broomstick and was crossing the All  in search of  a crystal ball which should help her to bring the sun out again. She had flown hundred of miles since she had started, and hadn´t seen any ball, not even a tiny one,  and at the end, exhausted, she had simply fallen asleep. In fact Barbra always slept with great pleasure on her broomstick under the stars, especially since she had equipped it with an auto-pilot button. And anyway,  the sky was big and well-lit on these nights of the full moon, so it was not really dangerous. It was just take-off and landing where she had to be careful…  Our little witch, after the collision, slowly came back to consciousness. As she had first seen the bubble her first reaction had been to pinch herself in the arm to make sure that she was not dreaming.. But the bubble was still there, it was not a dream, and she realised, immensely happy,  that she had finally found the crystal ball she was looking for. At last!  In fact the crystal ball was not made out of glass but of soap, but Barbra didn´t know that, having never seen a soap bubble before in her young life, as Witches have an aversion to washing. And even if she had known, believe me, she would have forgotten it at once, so happy was she to have found any kind of sky ball at all! And anyway: why should a little witch care about facts, when she was able to make appear or disappear everything she wanted! At least in theory… Well, to be honest –and Barbra was an honest little witch, kind of-, there was this awful creature  inside the ball, wriggling and making  terrible faces, and nothing like that was mentioned in her book. But she thought, they must have forgotten it, and if not, it was then an extra, and she would surely find something to do with the ugly dwarf. And anyway one shouldn´t look a gift dwarf in the mouth, should one?

(next instalment on Tuesday 27th January 2009)

By Miki

January 22, 2009 - Posted by | Art, books, Cafe L'Arte, Cafe Literati, literature, love, Miki's Paintings, Miki's Tale Bubble Boy, personal, writing | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I’m having such pleasure reading this and getting into the story itself, I don’t really get chance when I’m looking through and correcting. That Witch is bananas!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 22, 2009

  2. That witch is a self-portrait, of course… 🙂

    Comment by Miki | January 22, 2009

  3. Well if 50% of the world are secretly witches, it was a statistical probability that one of us would be!

    Comment by viv66 | January 22, 2009

  4. In fact I am only the Bananas part of it…
    Yes, unfortunately most of the women nowadays are self designed witches, not even secretly. Makes my story boring, I guess. It was not so as I wrote it. But perhaps exactly this fact will make my book more commercial, who knows 🙂
    How is your book doing?

    Comment by Miki | January 22, 2009

  5. I’ve just put up a post about it!

    Comment by viv66 | January 22, 2009

  6. Try to keep the confidence going now that I feel in this particular energized or vibrational episode. Tap into on the spot to that voice that speaks out of nowhere and incorporate that into the direct translation. Then I swear you will be so excited by the results you will send me a chocolate valentine. Seriously though, I know you are translating (and that is hard work), but there is energy in this today I haven’t felt. This energy makes your Bubble Boy universal. Everyone can identify with the story because you the writer give space to the reader to place themselves into it. See!
    loving it Miki really!!!

    Comment by Michael | January 22, 2009

  7. Hi Michael!
    I definitely can’t find great pleasure into the translation work because I am missing all the finer words and expressions I would need for it. But I don’t mind, I don’t need even confidence, this book has been written by me about 25 years ago,I don’t feel connected to it, and I won’t alter it at all. I have no publication aim beyond Cafe Literati, and if some people enjoy it, then I am happy.
    Concerning the energy… well, Michael, until now, there were in the story only the Goodies, and they were all floating around. Now that The Baddie has arrived, there is more action here! 🙂
    But I can’t already tell it: it was not meant as an action children book, more like fun and witchcraft and smile and some tears between… like a “normal” children life!
    As for the Valentine chocolate… oops…

    Comment by Miki | January 22, 2009

  8. Nothing made of chocolate lasts long around here folks, and certainly not as far as the post office, so I guess you’re out of luck Michael! I always feel for Miki with the things she has written in the past. It must be enormously frustrating trying to prevent things becoming lost in translation. From my experience in trying to fashion the English version, it’s easy to fall into the trap of literal translation, instead of searching for equivalent phrases in English to convey the meaning. It’s been fun doing that!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 22, 2009

  9. In case my comment was not well stated I will try a different one.
    I love this story.
    Today something hit me. It was a force of some kind and it made me feel I was in the story.
    I presumed that during the translation there must have been a “magical moment” when the story seems to be wanting to be born into this world.
    Up to now I did not feel that. That being the creative genius that comes through the work being done. It occurs on a subconscious level but never-the-less it produces a result that makes me feel involved in the story.
    I was curious that this Magical Moment occurred in the translation and the choice of words made this episode ring true for me. The only reason I mentioned it was to illustrate the idea that creativity is channeled somehow for me from the sub-conscious and when that happens it feels like there is a universality to the story. This vibrates in its essence for the reader and creates a space between the words for the reader to place themselves somewhere in the story.
    All of this I say as an affirmation of the beauty and wonder of the creative process that constantly makes me stand in awe of certain works that do this to me. You story does this and for that I congratulate you.

    Comment by Michael | January 23, 2009

  10. Good morning Michael!
    Don’t worry, I don’t believe you stated something wrong!
    What hit you as you read it was of course… the broom stick!
    Seriously: you beautifully describe the Magical Moment.

    But really, I have no chance myself to make on this story the work I would love to. I am not even sure that I could do it in the German version, as it was not my language either and I learned it quite late, and not even perfectly.
    The only language in which I could write “as I feel and think and live” would be French… unfortunately I have lost the emotional connection to France and their language… This is a very sad story for me this one, as I would love to write again. I just can hope that after many many more years with Kevin and here in Cafe Crem English become slike a second nature to my brain… but difficult to reach at my age.

    Anyway thank you for this great comment.

    Comment by Miki | January 23, 2009


Leave a Reply

