Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Riddle

I got ambushed by poetry on my way home from walking the dog in our very muddy(but ancient) woodland; I say ambushed because it came out of nowhere and I had to keep repeating it to myself until I got home and could write it down before it was lost. I rarely ever write rhymes,  and actually don’t like rhymes for the sake of rhymes; so when something comes through and rhymes without thought, I leave it alone and let it be as it wishes to be. Some things are best not questioned or tampered with.

I don’t actually know the answer myself and I would be open to suggestions as I think this one can mean what you need it to mean….

 

Riddle

 

I’m a face in the crowd

The one you’d like to kiss

I’m a voice in the wilderness

The one you’re gonna miss

I’m a fragrance on the air

The one you think you know

I’m a touch on your sleeve

But before you look, I go

I’m the one you’ve met before

But you can’t recall my name

Like the heart in your body

I’m the one they’ll never tame.

 

 

by Viv

January 20, 2009 - Posted by | friends, fun, God in our life, life, literature, love, personal, poetry, random, Viv's Poetry, women, writing | , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Now this scans beautifully for a song. It’s reminiscent of “The Uninvited Guest” a song by Marillion which, in part, goes:

    “Cause I’m the one who knows what scares you
    I’m the one who loves you best
    I’m the thirteenth at the table
    I’m the uninvited guest
    I’m the Banquo at your banquet
    I’m the cuckoo in your nest
    I’m your fifteen-stone first-footer
    I’m the uninvited guest

    Comment by kevmoore | January 20, 2009

  2. Aha, the first-footer!A North east and Scots tradition(and other cultures too I guess)
    My husband(or was it my brother?Dunno! I’m getting forgetful about these things) used to like Marillion but I’ve never listened to any.
    And as for the one who knows what scares me, well, it doesn’t happen very often but if my brother and my husband get together in mischief, let’s say I am usually the one who ends up in tears….

    Comment by viv66 | January 20, 2009

  3. Indeed, a North east tradition for sure, certainly not Derbyshire. I’d not heard of it until I ventured up there.
    I’m a bit contrary with Marillion, I prefer them with Steve Hogarth (with whom they recorded this song) plus we did a show with them. i like about three or four of the songs they did with Fish on vocals, but he’s not my kind of singer. I felt they had more bombast with him and more gravitas with Hogarth. I’m going on a bit now, aren’t I?

    Comment by kevmoore | January 20, 2009

  4. Bless you, go on as much as you like. When people are keen on something, it makes even something dull(like fly fishing) exciting. Not that nuances of rock are dull; just wayy over my head.
    Oh and I just got an email back from a publisher I contacted a week or two back about a proposal for a book on using aromatics for meditation, and they are interested. So now I just have to write some sample material and see… But again, they’re people I have known off and on for about 12 years(never met, just phone and email) and I’m happy that they’re giving this a chance, at least just to look at. It’ll stop me going stir crazy here in the vicious British winter…

    excuse me while I go wizzing round the room yelling,,,,,”Whooppppeeeeee!!!!!”

    Comment by viv66 | January 20, 2009

  5. We all need a whoopee now and then, Viv. Miki and I celebrate the smallest victories with a high 5. Fingers crossed for you!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 20, 2009

  6. Congrats, Viv! I could hear you all the way over here! I really like the poem. Great for a forest stroll.

    I was never much for rhyming poems, but after reading so much Dr. Suess to my kids, my poems keep coming out in these little sing-songy rhymes now whether I want them to or not. I wonder how to be taken seriously as a writer when people look at my stuff and say “Oh, that would make a cute greeting card.”

    Marillion sure brings back memories. My husband was listening to them when we first met back in college.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 20, 2009

  7. Oh Shelley, that makes me laugh. I once got stuck on Limerick and it was hell. I couldn’t write anything for days that didn’t come out as There was a young man from peru or similar. I had to give myself a very stern talking to to stop it. Now if I do Limericks with students, I need a stiff drink afterwards!
    I love Dr Seuss. So anarchic. I also love Roald Dahl, for the same reason. I do think that books like Danny Champion of the world are so subversive that they’d never be accepted from a new writer and would never make it to the shelves. There is(apparently) a special code of what you can and can’t write for children’s books according to what age you write. Scuppered any thought of sending to publishers any of the books my brother wrote and drew for my daughter when she was little; way too subversive for the age group the drawings appear to be aimed at..And too subtle. he wrote once about a llama escaping from the zoo under cover of daylight…I almost missed it the first time.
    Anyway, there was a famous poet who made a living writing greetings card jingles, but I can’t for the life of me remember who.

    Comment by viv66 | January 20, 2009

  8. There is no dishonour in creating rhymes or one-liners that would, simply because of their brevity,grace a greeting card, look at the wonderful one-liners from Oscar Wilde!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 20, 2009

  9. Ah! Now I know I was showing my writing to the wrong people! You guys are the greatest 🙂

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 20, 2009

  10. To be truly immortal as a writer, you need to have your words on fridge magnets these days……

    Comment by viv66 | January 20, 2009

  11. Riddle me this. Why would you one change something if they liked it? Great poem Viv.

    Comment by Michael | January 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

