Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Love is in The Air…

love-is-in-the-air-s

I am working right now on designing some Valentine eCards for my eCards gallery at Plaxo, and I will take the occasion to say, in the name of Kevin too, a big thank-you to all our authors here. You are all marvellous people and amazing artists, and we love you a lot!

This is why I dedicate to all Cafe Cremers my first Valentine love card!

We are all very busy in our lives, have 1000 things to do, and this is why it is even more incredible for us to see this activity in Cafe Crem. To see that you all take the time to come here and  share your stuff and view the works of others is “beyond the call of duty”!

A special thanks will go here to Michael Pokocky, who had some great ideas which finally lead us to create our 3 beautiful rooms, Cafe Literati, Cafe l’Arte and Ca’ Puccini. He has always been one of the most prolific and supporting Cafe Cremers, and I must honestly say that right now, we are missing him quite a bit here. Him, his thoughts, his poetry, his wonderful photos and philosophical sketches! This is why I sent him a mail yesterday, just telling him that… Good news: he might be back soon!!!

by Miki

January 20, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, friends, life, love, men, Miki's Paintings, personal, women | , , , ,

25 Comments »

  1. Okay, I’m biased, but I absolutely adore this design! I find the heart amazing, and the whole composition lovely.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 20, 2009

  2. I’m nearly speechless. I feel as though the heart would start to beat if I just looked at it long enough.

    This comment is brought to you by today’s cultural reference:

    silhouette animation a la Lotte Reiniger!

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 20, 2009

  3. Sublime! Miki, this is the epitome of romance! It brings to mind visions of candle light, soft music, rose petals strewn in a scented bath for two….. 😉

    Comment by Bonny | January 20, 2009

  4. It’s beautiful Miki, and original, unlike the majority of the very tired Valentine’s themed images that fill the shops right now and make me feel horribly anti-Romance. It’s a very long time since I was single(I’ve been married longer than I was single for) and every year when Valentine’s Day comes along, I feel such sympathy for those who won’t be getting any sort of card or so much as a hug. And they’re not all single either!
    When the tradition of Valentine’s started in Victorian times it was actually often sent between friends and family members and not so often between lovers or wannabe lovers, but even by the 1890s this had begun to change into the focus on romantic love(or lust!) it’s now solidified as.
    I think I have the ultimate permanent Valentine’s gift; some(or many) years ago, we decided not to buy into the commercial-fest and don’t buy cards any more. But one Valentine’s day we were walking along a beach in the north east and Nigel bent and picked up something he then presented to me. It was a flat rock, shaped by the sea, into a perfect heart shape. Serendipity or what?

    Comment by viv66 | January 21, 2009

  5. Thank you for the nice comment, Viv.
    I exactly feel the same as you for the people who are craving for love and haven’t got it, single or not… and indeed I know many not single people who would give a lot for a single hug.. this is so sad…
    Wonderful story with your Valentine walk along the beach…
    Yes, serendipity and synchronicity: I believe that fate is “le chevalier servant de l’Amour”! Don’t know how to say it in English…
    Kevin and me don’t buy into the commercial either, and last year I had a beautiful surprise on my desk as I came down on Valentine day. I will try to edit this comment and include the photo of it after I have posted it… never tried if it works to include a photo in a comment!

    Valentine with Apple

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  6. Well, I have tried, couldn’t make it working! What a pity! But I put a link to the photo, just click on it in the previous comment. Kevin had simply spread many hand-made paper hearts on my laptop, it looked wonderful. I could never throw the hearts away and always used them again at several occasions for him… great recycling!

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  7. Ah that’s nice.
    I’ve just found out that I am not down to do any teaching this February and I am mad as hell over it. I had a strong intuition about it and sadly it has proved right. I could spit, or shout or something. bah!!!

    Comment by viv66 | January 21, 2009

  8. This is really annoying!I guess you will have to find a way to use this extra free time for something which can serve your higher aims… so easy to say, I know… but never forget that so many people in this world would give a lot to have some extra time…
    Now, to start with, you could show us, in more words than simply “bah” I guess, how it sounds when you spit or shout…
    You could write a REALLY violent piece to get rid of this frustration, at least partly…

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  9. Eat a fruit that has a core (apple, peach, maybe even pear); if you live in a house, upon completion of ingestion of said fruit, open the front door, and hurl it onto the street in your best impression of a baseball pitcher.

    It feels really good.

    If there is no house or the people across the way are literally too close, you could find a patch of woods & launch it there. I’m sure a squirrel or raccoon would be most pleased.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 21, 2009

  10. Hi Pug, I was yesterday in an altered state and forgot to thank you for the lovely comment to my heart…

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  11. Now Pugs, I would like your personal assurance that no raccoons were harmed during your last comment. Sounds like you were using them for target practice….Do you get more points for inner or outer rings?

    Comment by kevmoore | January 21, 2009

  12. ooh that’s tempting. Trouble is I might not stop. I can’t remember if I said here(might have done in an email) that a problem exists between me and my immediate boss. Almost a year ago, before she was made my boss, we had the most appalling row that ended with me blocking her on Facebook because she simply wouldn’t leave me alone and let the mater go. When I returned to work in the March, she actually managed to blank me in the staff room, refused to return my greeting, respond if I spoke or do anything that involved interacting with me. I was traumatised by this and just soldiered on and over the course of the year we rubbed along. But I always had a feeling she was waiting to pay me back. Now she is in sole charge of choosing who is coming in to teach and even though there are over a hundred kids coming in, meaning we need 7/8 teachers, I am not asked. Up till now, I was called in for every group, even small ones. I sent my top boss and email saying that since I wasn’t down for teaching, was there going to be any courier work for me? Am waiting for a reply. Now, my top boss is a great lady and I know she values me. She wrote me a testimonial and it makes me blush.
    Now I fall in that shadowy area where I am more than legally a worker but not officially an employee and this is what makes it so difficult to decide what to do. I’ve done a bit of employment rights research and I need to speak to someone who is an expert, because I am definitely being discriminated against. Apart from my immediate boss, I am the most highly qualified teacher there, I have two years of experience as well as a great deal of excellent feedback from students and leaders and each years’ review of my teaching has been in the highest possible grade. I know for a fact that one of the people who has been called in hasn’t got a single paper qualification to his name; he’s a good TEFL teacher sure, but that ins’t the point I’m making.
    I’m a bit stuck as to what to do about it, really. I’ve been kicking my heels since December and although financially it isn’t critical, it is important.
    So I am going to sit on my rage and control it and see what I can do constructively to change the situation.
    I made a good start on the aromatics book this morning and I should be able to have something ready to send as samples by Friday. I do feel this book is a fantastic step forward for me, and it’s been flowing brilliantly.
    I also just got an email to say I passed my course- 89%. It seems ironic that I’ve just sweatted blood to finish a course for a job I’m not sure how much longer I shall be doing it for. I’m also illogically pleased to have passed so well and without taking the full fortnight and only two mornings.
    Might write something later. Something red…

    Comment by viv66 | January 21, 2009

  13. Pugs, I went for a stamp in the woods and it helped.
    No racoons but I was almost hit by a squirrel fleeing over a garden fence, as if someone had throw something at it…wasn’t you, was it???
    I’d die of shock to find a racoon in England!

    Comment by viv66 | January 21, 2009

  14. ha I might go down to the bottle bank and smash bottles; that’s always a good one.

    Comment by viv66 | January 21, 2009

  15. Oh I remember now, I had read your comment about your aromatic book, and I was infinitely pleased about it. Just forgot to write it down!!! I of course wish you big big luck, and surely everybody else here too. To be asked for some sample is a first important step, and I have not doubt that the result will be convincing.I hope you will tell us a little bit more about it when things get more concrete.
    Congratulations too for your course!
    And concerning your boss, you spoke to me in a mail about her. It sounds like deep injustice, and injustice is really one of the things we human can’t bear with, and shouldn’t either! It is for em unbearable, at least that some people can decide about big parts of our lives according to their moods and feelings and madnesses. I was working as a mathematician in the industry in Germany, and as I stopped, I swore myself: I will never have a boss again! it is about 15 years ago now and until now I could really avoid it. I feel very lucky for that.

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  16. RED would be brilliant!

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  17. While I was writing a post on your painting Boats in Barca de Alva Painting Portugalfeature http://michaelwpokocky.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/boats-in-barca-de-alva-painting-portugal/ Kev informed me that you (well here is what he said,”This is kind Michael, and today, Miki, too has made an entry focused on you in Cafe Crem. Its called Love is in the Air 🙂
    I love this most happy of coincidences. It says a lot about you both.”
    I think that just about says it all.

    Comment by Michael | January 21, 2009

  18. And it was Kevin who informed me about your post in your blog! Thanks Michael!

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  19. No woodland creatures as target practice!

    My front door isn’t very close to the street, so when I throw a fruit core towards the street, I hit the gutter or the middle of the street. I also don’t have much arm strength.

    If one doesn’t have a front door & yard & street, and could only drive to a patch of forest and throw a curve-ball or a fast one there, a squirrel or raccoon would be happy to have something to eat. Maybe not a squirrel…if they only eat nuts.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 21, 2009

  20. Pugs: Do you find yourself eating differently…i.e: subconsciously trying to shape the core into a more aerodynamic projectile? Or am I just being silly? erm…don’t answer that. You see, I eat a lot of bananas, and the skins just don’t travel well.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 21, 2009

  21. haha! banana skins. i think youd have to ball them up…but then, why would one want to do that? slimy.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 21, 2009

  22. No, you leave the skins somewhere strategic where your enemy may walk.
    I think I am becoming a bad person. Oh dear…

    Comment by viv66 | January 21, 2009

  23. Fruit is in The Air…

    Comment by Miki | January 21, 2009

  24. I am still pithed off…geddit?
    Oh well.
    I ate the grapes of wrath for my dinner too.
    Oh the chevalier servant de l’Amore I think is best translated as knight errant of love. The knights errant were(I think) sent off on errands of service to their lady(or lord) I think this might be the nearest.

    Comment by viv66 | January 21, 2009

  25. pithed off.

    I lichen it a lot.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

