Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Beachcomber

Beachcomber
 
The shores of sleep last night
Were not of soft white sand,
Strewn with intriguing driftwood,
Magical wave-smoothed rocks
And shining wine-coloured weed
Cast up from the deep.
No. The shores of sleep last night
Were strewn for miles
With the wrecks of dreams,
The hulks of hope
And fragments of fantasies,
Lying like beached and decaying whales.
Some looked whole and entire
Till I peered through portholes
And found them empty, no more than shells.
I would be a beachcomber,
Gathering material for my work
As I patrol this shoreline,
But I cannot work with this.
I will wait till the next storm
Washes the strand clean
Of cast-up wreckage
And leaves me with the flotsam
I can fashion and transform.
by Viv
04-05-08_17331
January 20, 2009 - Posted by | literature, personal, photo, poetry, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Viv this is wonderful. I love how you manage to keep the ocean metaphor all the way through (I try to do that in my poems). I liked these lines the best:
    “The shores of sleep last night
    Were strewn for miles
    With the wrecks of dreams,
    The hulks of hope
    And fragments of fantasies,
    Lying like beached and decaying whales.”

    Comment by psychscribe | January 20, 2009

  2. Great stuff – it reminded me of a misty seashore walk!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 20, 2009

  3. Thank you both. Very kind.
    The photo is actually quite interesting as I came through the cliffs and onto the path that leads down to the dunes, and there in the bay was a misty vision of a four masted square rigger, flying a Dutch flag. Now, being a port, we have many tales here of ghost ships, including the infamous Flying Dutchman. So I can be forgiven for snapping away with my camera phone thinking briefly I was getting a ghost ship on camera. It turned out to be a Dutch ship berthed at the harbour that was running £20 trips along the coast to while away the time before their next proper trip. But it was funny for about five minutes as we stood there not daring to ask each other, “Is it THE Flying Dutchman???”

    Comment by viv66 | January 20, 2009

  4. Made me think poem.
    I have a sketch which says,”What hits the shore are the top two things that get eighty percent of the results.” see the sketch at http://www.flickr.com/photos/mike_on_the_road/3211136182/
    There is something here between the two.

    Comment by Michael | January 21, 2009


Leave a Reply

