Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

What am I worth?

I thought I’d try and make my offering today mildly humorous and hopefully a bit thought provoking as well…

 

What am I worth?
 
What am I worth?
Five K a kidney?
A snip, if you’ll pardon a pun.
Bargain bin good looks,
Reduced due to store damage
And some slight fading.
A cheap sense of humour,
Tending towards blackness
But not quite sick, not yet.
That must be worth a bit.
A Lucky Dip of hidden talents;
Go on, have a gamble.
Even I don’t have a clue
What’s hidden deep inside.
That bland tub of sawdust
May hold mysterious gifts
Awaiting your longer reach.
Go on, I dare you:
Make me an offer.
How much? You’re joking!
No way, no sale, pal!
I’m worth more than that, I think.

by Viv

January 15, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, fun, humor, life, love, personal, poetry, psychology, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Perhaps if you ever get divorced, you’ll find out the true value of that kidney. Nice sentiments…

    Comment by Davis | January 15, 2009

  2. Thank you Davis!
    I found that story rather sad but funny at the same time, but I wrote this poem about three years ago!

    Comment by viv66 | January 15, 2009

  3. Again, I had no idea what is going on as I read Davis’ comment! I really spent some time, reading your poem, again and again, trying to understand what Davis means… even worrying that some divorce is in the air!!!
    But then my saver arrived and told me the divorce kidney story… we had a discussion about it… honesty I found the story very disgusting, but of course I have no idea of the backgrounds and facts…!

    I wonder what would be your price… 🙂

    Comment by Miki | January 15, 2009

  4. Ha, thanks for worrying about my marriage Miki!
    For my 19th birthday I was given a card that totted up the value of my component parts, mineral by mineral. Obviously at this time transplants were in the early stages of becoming common so the card didn’t include the sale of organs… The total,which I don’t recall, was dismally low and the punchline of the card was “Don’t expect a present cos this card cost me an arm and a leg!”
    In the Book of Proverbs, there is a verse that asks the value of a virtuous woman, and she is valued as being above Rubies. Thank God for apostrophes in the correct places but people have been asking for years what Ruby’s price was….

    Comment by viv66 | January 16, 2009

  5. What am I worth? Depends on the day sometimes. Your poem made me laugh. I hope that was your intention. Felt good. But then again you know I get muddled from time to time.

    Comment by Michael | January 16, 2009

  6. You know what, Michael? I think our worth remains constant, its just our perception, depending on the day, that varies. It’s certainly true for me.
    Viv, its funny how certain phrases or lines fire the most unlikely synapse. Your “bland tub of sawdust” reminded me of playing at charity fetes with the school band as a boy.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 16, 2009

  7. Michael, it was meant to make people laugh as well as think, so I am glad it made you laugh. Laughter is great medicine!
    Kev, I was indeed meaning the whole lucky dip thing. My daughter once got something quite valuable in a lucky dip tub in Glastonbury many years ago. You can’t be sure what’ll be in it!

    Comment by viv66 | January 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

