Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Seagulls Over Lac Leman

Seagulls and Mountains

  One day last Spring, I decided to go for a long walk along the promenade at Lac Leman. Around every bend were new vistas to take in and enjoy. I passed several smaller communities and fishing boats and yachts in a small marina. I didn’t linger too long anywhre along my route, it was very cold!!

 There were birds of different varieties, mostly smaller chickadees or sparrows hopping along the rocks at the water’s edge. These seagulls came in from farther out to see if anyone had crusts of bread to toss up to them. They had no fear of people and were cheeky enough to come quite close! This was a lucky capture and it remains one of my favourite photos of that trip. I hope you enjoy looking at this photo, too.

January 15, 2009 - Posted by | Art

10 Comments »

  1. My God Bonny, that is an AWESOME photograph! What a beautiful, beautiful place.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 15, 2009

  2. Thank you, Kev. This part of Lac Leman was just down the hill from Lausanne, which is where Rob goes at least once a year for meetings. I love it there because there is also so much history in the town and lots of places to go and explore, which is what I do when Rob is stuck in meetings all day.
    For more photos of trips please feel free to visit my regular Blog:
    http://bonnyracca.typepad.com

    Comment by Bonny | January 16, 2009

  3. That would make a fabulous poster Bonny…
    I could look at it forever.
    If you have plans to do a limited edition run of prints, poster sized, I’d be first in the queue.
    You have a very good eye for a photo and a steady hand with the camera.

    Comment by viv66 | January 16, 2009

  4. Indeed a wonderful photo, Bonny! Niw Kevin wants to go there! He already knows quite a lot from Europe, through his gigs, but he does not know this part, neither Austria.
    This summer we might drive in July to the Czech Republic and Poland (it seems that Kevin has some gigs there)and if we do so, we will take the Lac Leman on our way then!
    We are up for a poster too, but if, I do want YOUR name on it!

    Comment by Miki | January 16, 2009

  5. I am told that in Newfoundland there is a saying…
    “S/he’s got seagulls in her eyes” and I understood it to mean someone is homesick…

    Comment by viv66 | January 16, 2009

  6. I love that saying very much, how romantic! Seagulls in the eyes! Before I met Kevin, I had seagulls everywhere!

    Comment by Miki | January 16, 2009

  7. That must have been interesting trying to kiss with the bally blighters swooping around!
    Seriously, though, I think you can be homesick for a person, sometimes one you have never met yet…

    Comment by viv66 | January 16, 2009

  8. Oh yes, this is exactly what I meant, Viv…and you made me laugh a lot!

    Comment by Miki | January 16, 2009

  9. Wow! Fantastic photo Bonny. Beautiful.
    @ viv. Hey I am Newfoundlander on my mother’s side and Ukrainian on my father. But the Newfies have the sense of humor. It’s the Irish you know.

    Comment by Michael | January 16, 2009

  10. Wow, a real Newfie, well half anyway.
    If we went anywhere to visit, it’d probably be Canada; we fell in love with Newfoundland when we saw, The Shipping News. Very dry sense of humour.
    We’re also fans of the Newfoundland folkrock group Great Big Sea, from whom I finally learned the REAL words to the song Donkey Riding I learned a clean version of at primary school. It all suddenly made sense…

    Comment by viv66 | January 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

