Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Pink Lemonade

“When life hands you lemons, make lemonade.”

I like that saying. In this case, I made pink lemonade.

This WAS the first draft I printed out of some prose for my altered book project. Of course my ink cartridge was low, but I could still read enough to take some notes. That was, until Matthew got a hold of it.

Picasso said it took him a lifetime to paint like a child, so I always pay close attention to what my children draw. I think my lesson here is that I need to loosen up a little bit more with my writing.

If I ever finish this project, it will need a “Bloopers” chapter for pages like this. Like at the end of funny movies — mistakes the actors make that get caught on film.

~Shelley

January 14, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe Literati, drawing, family, humor, Parents and Children, Proverbs and Sayings, Shelley's Altered Book, writing | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. did someone say pink lemonade?

    yum.

    Comment by Otto Mann | January 14, 2009

  2. When life hands you lemons…DUCK!

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 14, 2009

  3. Shelley, two things. Well, three really.
    First, my daughter did similarly creative things…she lived to grow up. Say no more.
    Second, and I hope you don’t think me silly, but when I first saw your name I read Shelley MOuse, not House.
    And third, did you read the first chapter of my novel Fish out of Water that I posted here about a week ago. There’s a paralell event here to your son’s art creation…
    Nice to meet you!!

    Comment by viv66 | January 14, 2009

  4. I love this Shelley, it speaks volumes about you and your children, and its all good.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 14, 2009

  5. Great and funny and wise post, Shelley, I love that a lot.
    And great idea with the bloopers chapter…

    Comment by Miki | January 14, 2009

  6. What is the book project about? It sounds rather exciting, Shelley.
    I do admire your calmness under the pressure of dealing with your kids; this would have had me tearing my hair out and stomping to the end of the garden to sulk!

    Comment by viv66 | January 14, 2009

  7. […] me regularly, and some days ago, it hit me particularly strongly as I read  Shelley’s Post  “Pink Lemonade” […]

    Pingback by The MiniBar in Cafe Crem « Café Crem | January 24, 2009


Leave a Reply

