Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

On course for success…

I said it either here or elsewhere on the net, the only thing which I regret since I have met Kevin is golf. I was a passionate golfer,  a good one too. But certainly not one of those snobs who play golf only to be able to say that they play, or to be able to say offhandedly that they are “just on the golf course” when they get a call. Or who ostentatiously take time to get the golf equipment out of their car in front of their house, or who even drive their car with the one golf glove on their way back from the course, or simply forget to change their shoes after the game… you know, following the motto:

“Everybody should see and hear that I play golf!”

No, I was never one of them, and more: this is the part of the game which I hated, and which in fact impeded me for a long time  to start with golf. But one day, almost by accident I found myself with a golf club in my hand, and with the first ball which flew, I was addicted… I was often trying to  explain to some of my friends here that I am not a passionate painter, but they don’t believe me. Just:  I know myself very well, and I exactly know what passion is.  I had 2 passions in my life: it was maths, and golf. Art does not involve my emotions in any comparable way as maths and golf did… believe it or not!

Anyway, Kevin was not a golf player as I met him. I didn’t even know that he was a football fan at that time, but more about that later… But he was kind enough to let me try to teach him golf. Now, Everybody who has tried, knows: it is difficult, one needs much patience and much self-control. Patience and self control are not exactly my Kevin’s strengths, he is much more akin to a continuously erupting volcano!

But the lessons went well, and very fast he could get some balls flying. I was overjoyed, already envisaging a new golf future with my sporty rocker! But life decided differently, we had to do many other things, we travelled a lot, lived in 2 places at the same time and we had no chance to find the continuity one needs to learn golf.  This was about 2 years ago. The last time that I had a golf club in my hands. And since then I always avoided to glance at my golf bag, scared it might cause me pain.

Now, I don’t know how it happened, but 2 weeks ago, Kevin and me spoke about golf, and he decided that we should start again. I could not believe my ears, and my luck! The same day I rang my niece and said that she should bring me all the clubs which we left in our Albir house. I had a short search through the internet, found a golf course quite close by, with a driving range open to the public. And see…. we were there today, at midday, and we both hit 25 balls, and the balls flew, more or less straight, more or less far, but they flew and I felt my whole being filled again with this immense joy of playing golf! Of course a driving range is not a course, but I don’t care at the moment. We have also found out that they have a lovely 6 short holes course, and as soon as Kevin has a little more experience, and self control (!) we will attack it.

Here is is, Kevin, hitting the ball… that special one flew quite far, I swear it!

090112-kev-moore-playing-golf

A wonderful driving range, by the way… the balls, at least the good ones, seem to fly directly into the sea…

And continuing with the “Sport” theme –

As announced yesterday, our Golf star contacted Radio Derby, the Derby Evening Telegraph and Derby County Football Club this morning, with the result being that , tomorrow morning he will be on the Radio Derby breakfast show at 8.50 am UK time, live on the phone from Spain!

January 12, 2009 - Posted by | golf, men, personal, sport, women | , , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Good to hear you are finding an outlet for that passion!
    My parents are passionate golfers; sometimes I think it’s the most important thing in my mother’s life.
    How do you exercise your passion for maths, though?
    Just curious…

    Comment by viv66 | January 12, 2009

  2. Good evening Viv!
    For many golfers, above all the ones who have retired here in Spain, golf seems to be the most important thing in their life! It was a passion for me, but it would have never been enough, and I just loved to play, but I rarely lost one word about it… while most of the people, after a game, spend still hours speaking about it… i quite hated this apres- golf…

    Maths? I said I “had” 2 passions. Practically I don’t exercise it at all nowadays. My life between 7 and 40 was dominated by maths, and almost exclusively between 11 and 28.
    Nowadays I have concretely nothing to do with maths, but my brain is simply a machine which works like maths… so in fact, maths are totally inhabiting me, I don’t really need to exercise anything! But I still feel in me an incredible excitement when any discussion about maths comes up. and I can get so angry, feel so aggressive inside, when somebody attacks maths… it is really strange because I am quite tolerant and understanding for everything, but with maths I lose my temper. I must add that most of the people who critic maths have NO idea what they are speaking about, and this especially drives me crazy!

    Comment by Miki | January 12, 2009

  3. Personally I find maths a fascinating and intriuging and sadly utterly baffling subject. I never got properly to grips with it as a child due to a mix of poor teachers and a weird attitude among the education professionals(well hidden but there) that said maths wasn’t for girls and made it much harder for girls to get interested in it.
    We used to have a friend who daydreamed equations. You know how some men get this odd glazed expression that often means they’re thinking about sex? Well, this guy was thinking numbers!
    Mu mum is the same about golf as you; the playing is her joy, the rest is just boring for her, especially the club politics. If she comes back after a good game, she glows. My dad loves playing too and when he had his heart bypass last summer his main concern was how soon could he play again!

    Comment by viv66 | January 12, 2009

  4. You say it exactly right, Viv, and I said it all my life: the problem with maths is above all the teachers.
    It is not a coincidence that the world seems to be divide din 2 parts: the ones who love maths and the ones who hate maths, and the ones who hate them make about 995% or even more from the population.
    Good maths teachers are very rare (I know what I am speaking about, due to my father’s profession, I went through many different schools as I was a child). So if you don’t get how it works in the very first year, you have no chance later, it is gone for ever. And this is why hates comes up, as a result of a deep frustration, coming back again and again in each pupil’s life.
    At least this is is how it was in “my time”. I have no idea how it is nowadays among the young generation , and how are the actual maths teachers…

    Concerning myself, I had to fight a lot against the idea that maths is not for girls, above all when I reached the higher levels. And as I was not one the typical ugly maths girls with thick spectacles, but quite a wild creature, I was a sensation, kind of. But it never really bothered me, as it was MY way, and nobody had a chance to stop me on that way.

    Golf club politics… awful!

    Comment by Miki | January 12, 2009

  5. I remember sitting in the classroom, gazing in despair at a book of logorithms. I had simply NO CLUE. Still don’t. Don’t care.(((sticks tongue out)))

    Comment by kevmoore | January 12, 2009

  6. Especially against Mr Kev Moore I had a lot of maths wars!
    He simply reduced my wonderful maths to these awful logarithms… such a sin!
    But you know since he has seen how my mathematical brain is able to fix a lot of problems which drive him mad, he is less virulent…
    You should ask him who fixed his internet connection in his computer today…didn’t work since yesterday… the solution was just the result of some basic but deep mathematical thinking!

    Comment by Miki | January 12, 2009

  7. I would love maths as I would love anything I value for itself and would love it more if I had had the chance to learn when I could.
    My daughter was good at maths until she went back to school, after four years out and had a jaded and unpleasant teacher for her GSCEs. Up until then I let her teach herself it(with some help from Nigel who has a degree first in Chemistry and then a masters in enviromental management) and she loved it. That teacher effectively ruined it for her.
    I do remember an almost religious joy when my dad taught me first Pythagoras’ Theorem and then the law of moments, when I was about nine. IT just made soooo much sense, briefly, of everything.
    I had a sort of friend at uni who was a doctor of astrophysics and he explained the whole relativity thing over a coffee or two in the senior common room, and for about ten blinding seconds I understood it all and I thought I would die of shock and enlightenment and then fizz, it was gone.
    I have also to confess that it was my lack of maths confidence that I didn’t fight the prejudice and do sciences at school and aim at becoming a doctor. My mum, bless her, said to me that sciences just weren’t feminine. And because I didn’t have good enough maths to back up the other sciences I gave up and did arts subjects instead.
    Latin in many ways is very logical and that was one half of my eventual degree.
    I kind of like the image of you being a Wild Thing(you make my heart sing…) at your higher studies.
    When the Da Vinci code furore was on, the society for female code experts wrote in protest about the depiction of the heroine being so beautiful. “Not all crytographers are glamorous; some of us are quite plain…”

    Comment by viv66 | January 12, 2009

  8. Miki

    Knowing your skills at photoshop, how can we be sure that is really Kev swinging?

    I have to admit, it’s a challenge to picture either of you at the country club. It was also a surprise to hear about Kev’s obsession with Derby!

    Hmmm… I wonder what interesting things about Susan and I we could reveal that would surprise you???

    Comment by bobcornelis | January 13, 2009

  9. I can’t help wondering how one pursues a passion for math when one is a painter – I mean balancing a check book is hardly mathmatics! And you don’t paint geometrically, god knows. So I’m stumped.

    But the golf. . .and in such beautiful weather. . .now that really works! And soon we’ll be seeing those golf balls bouncing through your paintings.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | January 13, 2009

  10. Viv,
    Besides maths, Latin was my favourite subject, and I had Latin at school 7 years. I just loved it, I suppose exactly because of the logic… As I was an adolescent, I often spent hours and hours at home translating Latin texts into French, just for my pleasure. As I went then into the higher studies of Maths and Physics, there was no possibility to learn Latin there, so I had to let it down… I was sad.

    Susan,
    The thing is is that most people don’t know what high mathematics really is. For me maths has hardly to do with logarithms and geometry, in fact they were the part which I hated in maths, especially geometry. It was all much too concrete for me… you wouldn’t believe it, but many of my mathematics skills are entering my paintings, and maths are the reason why they look like they do.
    I had a lot of paintings in the past with golf balls flying across… but be careful, soon,when Kevin has got some more practice, these balls will fly across your studio!

    Bob,
    You made me laugh a lot! Yes, it is Kevin swing the club…
    Funny how we can’t imagine other people. But I have really spent about 10 years in a lot of European golf courses…I also went to many European PGA Tour competitions, this is where I learnt my good swing… 😉
    My dream is to assist to the Ryder Cup though…
    And yes, I would be be curious to hear something “weird” about you and Susan… try it!
    As for Kevin’s obsession” with Derby, I believe it is normal. He is not obsessed, he is just another fan. and believe me, when Kevin loves something, it is wonderful to witness it. It does not matter if it is Music, Football or Miki, his love for the thing and his joy are immense and pure and come wonderfully across…
    I was astonished that he was a football fan, but hi love to his town is just another expression of his deep faithfulness: faithfulness to his family, to his friends, and, last not least, to HIMSELF…

    Comment by Miki | January 13, 2009

  11. In some ways, (and do correct me if I am off the mark) an instinctive understanding of maths is a great asset in art as so many things we think of as aesthetics can be broken down into maths, such as The Golden mean(I think)which classifies what we find pleasing to the eye can be defined as the Fibonacci sequence. Being able to gauge by eye whether something fits this is a huge asset to an artist, surely.
    Had a problem with the other computer today; hoping it has sorted itself out and am going to go catch another bus to the hospital after yesterday’s absurd waste of a morning. I just couldn’t get myself right again after turning up a day early yesterday!

    Comment by viv66 | January 13, 2009

  12. Sounds like you need to reboot, Viv – you AND the computer!
    Bob, I only wish photoshop were able to make me better at golf. But that is indeed me, you can see my shadow, look! 😉
    Regarding my love of football, its pretty much ingrained into most Brits I think, and though not overly common in musicians, I can quote several musicians active in football:Jim Kerr of Scottish group Simple minds is often linked with takeover proposals of Celtic F.C. Elton john is chairman of Watford F.C. Oasis are massive fans of Manchester City, my own musical hero Glenn Hughes is a big Wolves fan. Rod Stewart is a massive fan of the Scottish national team and even had trials as a player with Brentford F.C.before making it as a singer!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 13, 2009

  13. ha reboot me as in a kick up the bum…

    Comment by viv66 | January 13, 2009

  14. I’ve never had a problem occur the way this one did. I had just clicked on my link to cafe crem when the whole pc shut down, not just a crash but everything just went and then it started making a noise like an ambulance or something. I turned it off, at the point and then tried again a minute later; same thing again with the noise. We left it five minutes and then it restarted, with the serious error message and appears to be ok. We’re not sure if we had an intrusion (despite good firewall etc) or whether something like a cookie had a massive and unusual clash with our software. I’ve updated all virus stuff, run a few scans and now we’re defragging it.
    For me, a reboot is usually a good idea. I find if I can go to sleep after stress or upset or whatever, everything, even really bad stuff, is infinitisimally better for sleeping and starting again. I think my brain does actually reboot itself, so it isn’t unusual for me to catch a powernap at lunchtime at work, if I can find a quiet space away from people. It’s specially useful when i have had a bad morning..

    Comment by viv66 | January 13, 2009


Leave a Reply

