Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Derby Pride

Left Back in the Studio...

Left Back in the Studio...

For my second post in Ca’ Puccini I reproduce my latest mooremusic blog entry:

As one gets a number of years under the belt, it affords you a better perspective on life, and your experiences, as a whole. Looking back to my childhood, and particularly the years 1970-72, I feel enormously grateful to my Father for buying me a season ticket for Derby County, and inadvertently treating me to the most legendary era of this historic football club. It began a lifelong love for “The Rams” – a love that has been a tough one, as Derby have never again scaled the heights they did in the early 70’s with their iconic manager, Brian Clough.

Cut to this week, and Derby appoint a new manager, the son of the legendary Brian- Nigel Clough. He only had to turn up at the ground for the match the other night and we beat the English, European, and World Club champions , Manchester United, 1-0! It is hard to convey what this means to me and all the other Derby fans, a group of supporters fiercely loyal to the club and buoyed by its past achievements as though they were yesterday. Their stadium, Pride Park is regularly host to 30,000 fans, win, lose or draw. These same fans, me included, now see a resurrection of the “Clough Dynasty” and happy days ahead for Derby.  It is an emotional time. So, what did I do? I wrote a song!  It explores the “Father to Son”  theme, which is particularly poignant, not just with Brian and Nigel Clough, but with my Father and I – going to watch Derby was the one thing we did together.

This week, I will contact Radio Derby, the Derby Evening Telegraph and Derby County Football Club with a view to having it adopted as their theme tune. Click on the title to hear the song.

Derby Pride

Derby County
Play with Cloughies pride
Derby County
With your father by your side

We’ve been waiting since 1974
For justice to be done
For this sleeping giant to roar

And that little boy beside him
would soon become a man
Step into his father’s shoes
and lead the mighty rams

Derby County
Play with Cloughies pride
Derby County
With your father by your side

Do you recall the Popside
Hector, Hinton and Mackay?
We’d Shake the Baseball ground
by singing “Derby til I die”

Well Pride park takes the legacy
With the countries finest fans
And Nigel clough will lead us
C’MON THE MIGHTY RAMS

Derby County
Play with Cloughies pride
Derby County
With your father by your side

So many years of waiting
Pretenders to the throne
But now we’re celebrating
Cos Cloughie’s coming home!

Derby County
Play with Cloughies pride
Derby County
With your father by your side

Music and Lyrics © Kev Moore 2009

Derby Pride and other songs are available to buy as a digital download from here:

KEV MOORE MYSPACE

January 11, 2009 - Posted by | Ca' Puccini, Entertainment, Kev Moore's Music, Music, personal, sport, writing | , , , , , , , , ,

27 Comments »

  1. Kev, I haven’t listened to the song yet(but will tomorrow) but this picture freaked me out because I am utterly sure I know you from somewhere. Publicity pictures maybe but you look so very very familiar it made me think I met you once. Many years ago as a student I did some roadcrew and sound/light work for one of the many (dreadful) bands that proliferated in the 80s, but even though I am sure it wasn’t then, you do seem familiar.
    *woo* strange.

    Comment by viv66 | January 11, 2009

  2. Blimey, Viv! …but are you saying I was in one of those dreadful bands that proliferated in the 80’s?? 🙂
    I gigged intensively around the UK in the 80’s – nowhere was safe! Apart from Christie, I played the most with a band called Tubeless Hearts, and I also appeared on TV a few times, including Stars in their Eyes as Phil Lynott, though that was in the 90’s. Where were you a student? we did a few Unis.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 11, 2009

  3. I didn’t say you were in one of the dreadful bands at all!!! hehehehe.
    I did my degree at Liverpool university between 84 and 87, but(and this will shock you) apart from the various gigs I worked at(did a tour of the Isle of Man of all godforsaken places) I have never ever been to any live music event. I’ve had plenty of chances just never wanted to do it.
    Can’t have been stars in their eyes unless it was after 95 as we never got a tv till then, and I don’t watch music shows or talent shows even now.
    Weird. I have an almost photographic memory so I probably saw you somewhere and remembered the face..

    Comment by viv66 | January 11, 2009

  4. Concerning my youthful affiliation with the music scene, let me just say: never go out with drummers- they like hitting things.

    Comment by viv66 | January 11, 2009

  5. oops… here I can’t agree with you, Viv!

    Kevin started his musician career as a drummer and he drummed about 10 years. And I can testify that he does not like at all to hit things. He loves to hit the bit though…
    And his son, who is now 17 years old, is a great drummer too, and the nicest boy in the world!
    And then there is Simon, the drummer with Christie, a very gentle guy..
    And there is Pete, the drummer with BCSweet, very easy going guy..
    and there is also Keith, Kev’s late friend, the drummer with Donavan and Terry Reed, who toured America with the Stones.. he was just a gentleman!

    Comment by Miki | January 11, 2009

  6. good, that’s nice to hear.
    Shows you should never make generalisations based on limited evidence!
    My experience of drummers is mainly based on two or three I have known… And I too drum.
    Does Kev do the whole drum on any available surface thing though? Or did he?

    Comment by viv66 | January 11, 2009

  7. I don;t know if Kevin were drumming on any available surface as he actually was a drummer, but right now he doe not. But he is playing guitar in the air all the time, and above all, he is dancing all the time… even when he cooks!!! Wonderful to watch and to get in the right modd when I feel a little bit down…
    His son is drumming everywhere though…
    You too drum, yes, I remember… does that mean that you like hitting things too? 🙂

    Comment by Miki | January 11, 2009

  8. only drums!

    Comment by viv66 | January 11, 2009

  9. I’d like to go back to the initial subject…

    With Internet, I am very pleased to discover new people and new things.

    As a ignorant frenchman 😦 , I do not follow the Carling Cup results and espacially the DCFC ones but now, I know ‘who’ is Rammie !

    With a superb shoot from 25 meters, Commons gave victory to your beloved club but, according to a recent survey, Rams have only a 6.7% chance to win the cup… Sorry guys !

    Kevin, you guess I am kidding you 🙂 but I want just to say that you are a very creative artist for giving us this nice song in a so short notice !

    Comment by Joël | January 12, 2009

  10. … and I hope you are already preparing a new supporter’s song for the second legs match, on the 20th of january !

    (Have you seen how, now, I try to keep up with football news ? 🙂 )

    Comment by Joël | January 12, 2009

  11. Hot geetars you’ve got there. The one you’re not holding reminds me of creme brulee.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 12, 2009

  12. @ Joël
    Qu’est ce que tu m’as fait rire! Je suis très impatiente de voir la réaction de Kevin quand il va lire ton commentaire… especially your 6,7% are delicious!
    We saw the famous match last week, Rams against Man United, and the super shoot… I am sure the survey didn’t say such a high number as 6,7%!
    Kevin had invited me out to dinner to look at the match, and that night I became a FAN from the Rams… and what a fan! I can’t believe it myself but I am now a member of the BBC Sport 606 Board, throwing injuries and swear words at the head of our biggest enemy Nottingham forest!!! 🙂
    And… your kidding is very welcome, I adore to see Kevin’s face when somebody is kidding him!
    Keep informed, Joel… today Kevin will contact the club and the radio and the newspaper… or try at least!
    And as for myself I am already shivering by the thought of the next match on the 20th, as I am a very emotional and hypersensitive and quitehysteric baby ram…

    Comment by Miki | January 12, 2009

  13. @ Pugs…
    and hot baby holding the guitar! he reminds me of hot chocolate, the milky one…

    Comment by Miki | January 12, 2009

  14. Wow! I wake up to loads of comments!
    Joel: Great to see you finding out about The Rams…and the percentage to win? Well..no-one gave us a chance in the game against ManU the other day, that’s the beauty of football – you never know!
    Pugs: I can never forgive you for comparing my guitar to a crem brulee…do you know how hard it is to avoid thinking about food?? Now, I shall have a constant reminder in my studio ((sigh)) ..perhaps I should buy a small fridge..
    Miki:you really are my number one fan, aren’t you? 😉

    Comment by kevmoore | January 12, 2009

  15. Oh no! Er…

    shall I compare your stringed instrument to a summer’s day?

    a bar of off-white Ivory soap?

    a young male polar bear?

    cream Chuck Taylors?

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 12, 2009

  16. Pugs, you make me laugh,and that can only be a good thing!
    I think I’ll opt for the soap. Personal hygiene is so important.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 12, 2009

  17. This is such a catchy tune, Kev! I love it! I took a listen in Myspace, but knowing the background story makes it that much better. My son insisted I play it again–I think we’re on our 4th listen now.

    Funny coincidence that the discussion has turned to chocolate here 🙂 I was just starting a series of chocolate art! Maybe I should switch to soap art–clean, clean, squeaky clean.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 13, 2009

  18. Shelley, your son has made my day! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | January 13, 2009

  19. Maybe I should switch to soap art–clean, clean, squeaky clean.

    Now why does that make me think of Eurythmics & Phil Collins?

    I realize my (pop)cultural reference-allusion-associations can be nonsensical.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 14, 2009

  20. I love the Eurythmics! The “clean” reference actually made me think of the Depeche Mode song Clean. I just found an acoustic version of the song on YouTube–Oh, the wonders of YouTube! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qwo1Vfr4pd4

    Comment by shelleymhouse | January 14, 2009

  21. Fantastic. I’m liking that Depeche Mode song.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 14, 2009

  22. Pugs: without your “(pop)cultural reference-allusion-associations” I, for one, would be bereft 🙂
    P.S. Our drummer in BC Sweet, Pete Phipps, was the drummer with Eurythmics for a time, and I have a wonderful story relating to his departure from the band, which I may tell on here someday!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 14, 2009

  23. Shelley: great clip! Never liked all the early DM synth-pop stuff at all, and always was amazed they cracked America – but their later, darker stuff has more appeal – and until you posted this, I’d never heard them acoustically….and THIS I like!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 14, 2009

  24. Whoa, six-degrees-of-separation-world, kev.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 14, 2009

  25. 🙂 When I was working amongst a bunch of other entertainers a few years back, I became known for a game which they called “Six degrees of Kev Moore” where people would give me two artists or songs, and I would connect them in 6 moves or less…well, it passed the time on slow days.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 14, 2009

  26. went out with fos for a while how is he ?

    Comment by ann | February 15, 2009

  27. Hi Ann, I’m in touch with Fos from time to time, he’s fine – and he and I still play together in Christie – we reform this spring to tour Europe again. I’ll tell him you were asking after him.

    Comment by kevmoore | February 15, 2009


Leave a Reply

