Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Love (2)

I wrote the following poem when a friend of mine was struggling with feelings that were at the time utterly unwelcome; I think we’ve probably all been there….

 

Love (2)

 

Falling in love is much like falling sick:

It wasn’t part of the original plan.

There’s never a right time for it,

But when it happens, there comes

A terrible sense of inevitability,

A point when you can’t put it off

For a single second longer

And you succumb wholeheartedly.

It sometimes sneaks up uninvited

Like a stealthy summer cold.

You kid yourself it’s just pollen

That makes eyes and nose run:

The ache you feel is just overwork,

The heat in your veins merely

A reflection of the searing sun

And the shivers that shake you

Are geese parading over your grave.

But as the symptoms grow

So too does the unwelcome news

That there is nothing you can do

And it must run its true course.

Sometimes you recover, wake

To find the signs have vanished

Much like the glistening morning dew

As the sun warms the new day.

A faint uneasy memory remains

And you bless your luck at escaping,

Getting off so lightly this time.

Other times you toss and turn,

Boil and burn for years on end,

Find no relief, no end, no cure.

You get used to it finally,

Grow to enjoy the constant fever.

You won’t die of this disease,

But at times you might wish to.

Falling in love is much like falling ill,

But it is part of someone’s plan.

It’s timing is never our own,

And what we learn from it

Is both its gift and its curse.

 

by Viv

January 9, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, friends, fun, life, love, personal, poetry, Valentines, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Oh gosh yes, I remember what that feels like! It becomes your priority so quickly that its awe inspiring and more than a little scary. Heh – but there’s one thing it certainly does, it proves to you that you ARE, in fact, alive! *smile*

    Comment by jennypaws | January 9, 2009

  2. @ Jenny
    I don’t know if you are aware of it, but there is a some key combinations which make Smileys.
    The “smile’ for example is typing
    : – )
    close to each other, than it appears like 🙂
    There are some more, but I have forgotten them…

    @ Viv
    I so much love your poetry… so deep,so true, and such a striking personal style…
    I will use the occasion to make a comment about my favourite love theme ever: Kevin.
    Before I met him, love was indeed a gift and a curse.
    But honestly, Kevin is simply a gift from heaven… no curse, no illness, no pain, no suffering for me… well, except when he is away!!!

    Comment by Miki | January 9, 2009

  3. Miki, I have to admit that I do know a lot of the key combinations for emoticons, but sometimes just prefer to write *smile* instead! It all depends on the context, I think! 🙂

    Comment by jennypaws | January 9, 2009

  4. great poem Viv. who knows I might be brave enough to post one I’ve written about Miki on here (assuming I can avoid flying objects) 😉

    Comment by kevmoore | January 9, 2009

  5. Ok Jenny, 🙂 or *smile*, it’s all perfect… I should have known that you know…

    Oh Kevin, I thought you would not find my comment… I don’t know which poem you mean, but post it, and wait what happens…

    Comment by Miki | January 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

