Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

It doesn’t matter!

morganfr-small

It doesn’t matter!

 

Honest to God, son – it doesn’t matter!!

So you’re having the drumstick,

great,

enjoy!

There’s no need to correct me

as to whether I said

you would eat

the drumstick first …

or last …

There’s no rules to sweetie eating!

Honest to God, son – it doesn’t matter!!

So you’re wearing your coat,

with the hood taken off.

Its sunny – no worries!

There’s no need to correct me

as to whether I said

you could zip your sleeves

in, or take them off …

Its your coat and your choice!

 

Honest to God, son – it doesn’t matter!!

There are more things to worry on

than sweeties and coats

and more things to correct me on

when you’re older and wiser.

But for now .. let it go – and just trust that I know.

Jenny

January 8, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, culture, education, Entertainment, family, friends, fun, God in our life, health, humor, Jenny's Poetry, life, love, men, Parents and Children, personal, psychology, women | , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Great sentiments. Just wish they worked on a 17-year-old!

    Comment by Davis | January 8, 2009

  2. *chuckle* Well, I’m not saying that they worked on an 8 year old (as he was, then) – in fact, I’m sure it was frustration at the fact that they weren’t working, that spawned the poem! LOL

    Comment by jennypaws | January 8, 2009

  3. I vividly remember my rage when my Father told me I couldn’t grow my hair long in Junior school. After I calmed down, I told him that he would regret it, as I would, as soon as I moved out, grow my hair as long as possible, which I did, and I still have it! (unlike Dad, who appears to have mislaid his.) Welcome Jenny, and thanks for the great poems!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 8, 2009

  4. Such a lovely photo, Jenny! Your son, I guess?
    This is funny, i was running your poem together with Kevin -I always need some language help, above all in poetry- and our interpretation of the poem was quite different, almost contrary.
    I understand it from the perspective of a mother understanding that, in fact, all these “little things” from the daily life about which parents usually moan are really not so important eventually…
    Kevin thinks that on the contrary the mother here is moaning about children who seem to believe that they all know it better…
    Considering your answer to Davis, I suppose Kevin is right 🙂

    Comment by Miki | January 8, 2009

  5. Yes Miki, that’s the little terror. He’s 10 now. No, I think in truth, you were both right. lol I was frustrated that everything I said to him was challenged in some way or another, yet I know that there are so many things that are bigger and more worthy of his (and my) spending time on. I just wished he would get on with being a child and just trust me that what I was saying was for his benefit and not to his detriment!

    Hello Kev, and I’ll be expecting the “long hair argument” any day now, then. *chuckle*

    Comment by jennypaws | January 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

