Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Musing on disappointment

 

It feels a bit like very hungry

although worse than very hungry

because you know that hungry can be fixed.

~

This can’t be fixed.

If it could be fixed,

it would have been fixed by now

and it wouldn’t feel like very hungry.

~

It feels a bit like loss

although not as bad as grief.

Like when you’ve lost your cardigan

somewhere round the shops.

~

You know there’ll be other cardigans

in almost the same colour

and almost the same style

but no matter how nice, it won’t be that cardigan.

~

It comes in the realisation

that, for two days, they’ll all be there

and you’ll be here

and they’ll all be away, but you’ll still be here.

~

You sigh, because that’s rough.

It can’t be fixed

so lets opt for diversion.

Maybe I’ll go shopping.  *spit*

Jenny

January 7, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, Jenny's Poetry, life

13 Comments »

  1. Morning Jenny!!!

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  2. ha, I remember the context of this poem too, I think. Was that when you weren’t able to make that gathering?

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  3. Good morning Jenny and welcome to Cafe Crem and Cafe Literati! Wonderful to have you with us… I am waiting to read the poem in its proper form, I mean with the blank lines between, which went lost as I a added your category… what a mess I have done wanting to put order! 🙂

    Good morning Viv… if you remember where the blank lines were, please tell me… I don’t want to leave the poem in a wrong form too long here…

    Comment by Miki | January 7, 2009

  4. Or there were no blank lines at all? I just don’t know!!!

    Comment by Miki | January 7, 2009

  5. I seem to recall that there were gaps to indicate changes of verse but not blank lines, and I can’t remember where!!!
    I think Jenny is at work now!
    Ah don’t worry…

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  6. Great description of disappointment! I am wondering about the context, above all after Viv mentioned it! Although I know that one should not ask perhaps… but I am so curious!!!!

    Comment by Miki | January 7, 2009

  7. Miki, I see what you mean about WordPress not liking blank lines! I shall have to put a character in, in future, I think. Maybe I’ll have a little play with that in a moment. 🙂

    Hiya Viv! Yes, you’re absolutely right, it was created when I was crushingly disappointed to not be able to attend the Bearclan Gathering. Everybody was away having a great time and I was sitting at home being miserable and worst of all, with no-one to talk to online. ~pout~

    Ah well, how times change, eh? *smile*

    Comment by jennypaws | January 7, 2009

  8. Hi Jenny, nice to see you!
    there is a special option in the editing modus where you can paste a text from word, and then it respects the whole Word formatting.
    Blank characters like , if I remember well, don’t work either…

    Comment by Miki | January 7, 2009

  9. Indeed they do. Peter is having his arm twisted about some gatherings this summer to work on the whole soul loss area…will I keep my temper this time? Depends on who’s there I guess!

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  10. Clever girl, jenny! i like the little swinging character, gives hope after the disappointment…

    Comment by Miki | January 7, 2009

  11. Miki – aaah, right! I’ll have to look for that next time, then. 🙂 Thanks!

    Viv – oh, don’t say it! Not now we’re even further away. LOL “Lose your temper”? Did you lose your temper last time, then? ~scratches head, tries to remember whether everyone came back from it all talking about Viv’s temper~ LOL

    Comment by jennypaws | January 7, 2009

  12. No just the topic got rather confused and heated when it was raised before Christmas. I did lose my temper on line but didn’t really show it.

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  13. I’m liking the pacing of this poem. Makes me think of Kurt Vonnegut for some reason.

    Comment by sittingpugs | January 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

