Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Café L’Arte

c2a9-matryoshka-coloured-pencils-rw1

   This is something a bit different than is normally seen on Cafe Crem. I rarely work in as large a format as Miki does.  So I’ve posted a page from my Moleskine journal. I love flowers and colour! The irises were drawn with water soluble pencil crayons. You draw with them as you would with normal pencils, but if you stroke over the drawing with clear water the pigments sften out and it becomes more painterly. These are ideal for the paper in the Moleskine as ordinary watercolour paints don’t adhere to the surface. They are also great to take travelling.

  The Matryoshka Doll pencil crayons were a gift from Rob, my husband. He brought them back from Sakhalin Island off the east coast of Siberia. He travels a lot for research in the field or for meetings. They are short and a bit thick, so holding them is a bit awkward. I’ve used them a few times, but I’d rather preserve them as a keepsake .  I love looking at them and I thought you might, too.

January 7, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Bonny's Paintings, Cafe L'Arte

6 Comments »

  1. Wow, Bonny, this is beautiful! I love this photo, the composition of the Moleskine book, the flower painting and these incredible pencils. If I had such pencils I guess I would hardly use them, but spend my time looking at them!
    What a lovely gift from Rob!

    Comment by Miki | January 7, 2009

  2. Gosh, I really love these Bonny. They’re so fresh and lovely and clear; I love irises too!
    Thank you!

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  3. Miki and Viv; You’ve both made my day with your enthusiastic comments! Today it’s completely overcast and dull grey and raining.

    These irises are cheerful and your comments are the ‘icing on the cake’!

    Comment by Bonny | January 7, 2009

  4. I had to go and buy some flowers today to cheer the house up after the decs came down for 12th night and your flowers helped enormously too.
    It’s freezing here in England, and everyone is complaining!
    No irises at the supermarket but I did get some diddy little narcissi with glorious scent.
    Where are you Bonny? I have a feeling you might be Canadian?

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  5. Whoah, Bonny, I adore those pencils! Like you, I couldn’t use them either. I’d be bereft when they got all sharpened away. *chuckle* They’re the perfect adjunct to the irises – which are gorgeous. I love the blending of the colours within each petal. Luscious!

    Comment by jennypaws | January 7, 2009

  6. Great pencils Bonny!-they remind me of the Russian dolls I bought in Moscow when we were touring Russia-but Russian dolls with a difference, they were of every Russian leader from Putin back to a tiny little Lenin! I must put a pic of them up here.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

