Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

The Vampire

The Vampire
 
I'm a vampire, you know.
No tricks with blood:
That's so outdated.
Have you ever sat down
Suddenly ambushed
By exhaustion in a mall?
That was me,
Siphoning off your energy.
I eat garlic daily:
It's good for the heart.
I even wear a cross
And walk around in daylight.
Your best defence?
Knowing I am here.
I can see you now,
Glancing round uneasily.
I'd wave, but-
You might spill your drink.
What a waste.
You're not in any danger.
I just wanted you to know-
I'm watching you.
by Viv
January 6, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe Literati, death, fun, health, life, poetry, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I like the idea of a shopping vampire. I take protection against these energy-suckers by stopping at a cafe after visiting each shop.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 6, 2009

  2. A Vampire in Cafe Crem… I love that! Fabulous not to have to wait until midnight to enjoy your company, and do you know what: it is really exciting to be watched, so much more exciting that the usual indifference of the whole world and the common ethnocentrism of each individual within it…

    Great poem again, Viv. Always so original, so personal and so powerful.

    Comment by Miki | January 6, 2009

  3. Hahahaha
    I wrote this in response to coming across a few psychic vampires….My daughter told me about an acquaintance of hers who would deliberately siphon off the energy of someone sitting near her in shopping centres and the only reason being- “because I can!”
    It taught me to be more conscious of my own energy field, though I do find if I really put the barriers up it’s like being shut in a glass castle. Sometimes you have to though..

    Comment by viv66 | January 6, 2009

  4. Reminds me of the basic premise of “The Celestine Prophecy” with its negative and positive auras. It’s not something I try to go too deeply into though, having been convinced for years that an Aura was a mid-price Vauxhall hatchback.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 6, 2009

  5. Any physicist will tell you that all objects have an energy field! However, I had reservations about the Celestine prophecy, some to do with its poor writing and some to do with its over simplistic views of the subtle. I had a powerful experience some years back where I began to see energy fields quite strongly; after a while of peeking and snooping, I realised it’s just as naughty to do that as it is to sneak a peek at people’s medical records or personal letters and tuned it out most of the time. You know the instinctive reaction you have on meeting someone for the first time? Well, in part that is due to their energy field interacting with yours.
    we had one of them Astras too…she was called Ruby!

    Comment by viv66 | January 7, 2009

  6. Hi, Has anyone got any advice for a good website about famous gothic poets as i need it for home work. From beth voyce

    Comment by Beth | January 11, 2009

  7. I would suggest you google a few names such as Mary Shelley(Frankenstein) and others of her era, such as Shelley himself, Byron and the gang. I’d also follow up the later (but still darkly gothic Bram Stoker, creator of the original Dracula.
    As a useful side dish I’d also suggest you read Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey, written at the height of the fashion for gothic literature and a great piece of humourous satire about the genre, and the first Austen I read when I was 13. It puts the whole gothic genre into its context.
    The Castle of Otranto is a famous novel in the early part of the genre but is awful and hardly readable now.
    Edgar Allen Poe is a later but very gothic poet; try some of his for the flavour!
    Good luck and sorry I can’t think of any websites.

    Comment by viv66 | January 11, 2009


Leave a Reply

