Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

I love the night

owl21

Viv’s last entry was full of dark imagery, and it brought to mind this poem that I wrote a couple of years ago. It’s inspired by a character in a Dean Koontz novel, and a liberal (possibly the wrong word!) helping of Alice Cooper….

I love the Night

I love the night
The stillness that it brings
The sweet decay
Before the blackbird sings

The cold dead air
That fills my darkened wings
I soar and swoop,
To prey
Upon the unaware
Who through the day
Will dare to dream
Of dripping nameless things

I love the night
I yearn its cold embrace
As I take flight
Cold moon caress my face

My jaws of death
Will welcome you inside
Your battered body buoyed
On mornings blood red tide

© Kev Moore June 1st, 2006

January 6, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, death, Kev Moore's Poetry, nature, poetry, writing | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Eek where’s my rosary???

    Comment by viv66 | January 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

