Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

A Coffee Cup in Portugal

cc-portugal-painting-publishing

Just a little announcement. You  remember perhaps that we both, Kev Moore and me, spent about 7 weeks in Portugal last Summer, a wonderful trip from the South to the North and down again… I tried to sketch every day, and in fact I managed  to do  quite a lot. As we came back, in the middle of July, I immediately started finishing the sketches and publishing them on my blog and in Flickr. But well, we had so much to do then, fixing our house in Albir to put it for sale on the market, moving from Albir to Turre, installing and opening my new gallery here, some big exhibitions and commissions between, so I had to stop.

Well, on the 1st of January, I resolved to finish my Portugal sketches series and to go on publishing them. I just finished one which I made in Barca de Alva, where we  (accidently) attended the Power Boats World Championship.  I thought I would put this sketch here in Cafe Crem, as there is a cup of coffee on it (I hope you recognise it as such!).

If you want to see the whole series (about 160 sketches until now) simply go

here.

By Miki

January 6, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, illustrations, life, Miki's Paintings, painting, travel | , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. How great to see these scenes again, Miki! – wonderful memories of our trip and the friends we made at the Formula 4 World Powerboat championships. Barca de Alva was a great little place, looking forward to visiting it again.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 6, 2009

  2. I can feel the sunshine here and the atmosphere too.
    I guess you were both really happy and mellow here?
    Thanks; a warm glimpse of summer in this icy day in England where the warmest thing is the minestrone soup on my tray!

    Comment by viv66 | January 6, 2009

  3. Three moving figures in one sketch. You must be really fast. Or do you say, “You there, in the doorway, hold still!”

    Nice sketch – the coffee container sort of looks like a coffee boat with a handle.

    Comment by wrjones | January 6, 2009

  4. She only says that to me, Bill-when she wants me to make her another coffee…
    Of course Viv, an anagram of minestrone soup is “OO! SUN PRISM – NEET!” I don’t know if that helps…

    Comment by kevmoore | January 6, 2009

  5. Hahahaha…
    Did you know that Feminist is an anagram of I fist men?
    Or that mother in law is an anagram of woman hitler?
    I do enjoy anagrams….

    Comment by viv66 | January 6, 2009

  6. I knew the second one…but then, I used to be married!
    I always thought the anagram of feminist was “make your own bloody coffee” 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | January 6, 2009

  7. Funny, Viv, Kevin loves Anagram too!
    I don’t know what “fist” means, (but I will have a look), but the second one about the mother in law is hilarious!

    @ Bill
    Three moving figures? No, Bill, four! the woman at the door is moving too, showing her pretty brown leg to the guy in the foreground…
    But yes, one has to be fast. I just look at the figures, and try to draw them in 2 seconds, in fact only the outlines, or even less, an idea of the outlines. Just enough to give the impression of a movement and of a body characteristic.I add details and colours later.
    A coffee boat with an handle! This is sooooo romantic!

    Comment by Miki | January 6, 2009

  8. Erm fist in this sense is very rude indeed….

    Comment by viv66 | January 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

