Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Bubble Boy -1-

Bubble Boy  - 1 -

Bubble Boy -1-

(Original German Version)

Far away from the Here and Now, in an enchanted corner of Space and Time, was a  Wonderland, where Nature and Men lived in deep harmony with each other.

In the valleys, between gently rolling hills, sweet-smelling plants danced, tenderly intertwined, guided by the quiet music of the wind, and made happy the hearts of mankind.

Feather-light clouds floated high above the land like silken ribbons and caressed the highest peaks, eternally covered with snow. Here the days were long and light, as the sun always went to sleep late in its small niche behind the horizon, waking again after only some hours sleep, fit and alive., so happy to share his warmth and joyfulness with all the people who loved it warm and joyful.

They called that land: „The Land of the Rising Sun”

In this land there was a little valley, beneath a very high, strange looking peak, which always wore a funny, frayed snow-white hat. People wondered, what that hat was for and reckoned that it might be a protection against the sun, which shone directly above his head. Anyway, in that valley, lived an old man. He was the only man living for miles around, and  people said that he had always been the only one since the beginning of time.  From morning until night, from sunup til sunset, he sat on a big stone, with the sun, the wind, the mountains and the plants as his only companions. He held a wooden bowl in his left hand, and a bamboo cane in his right hand, and he spent his time, day after day, making soap bubbles..

(next instalment on Monday 5th January 2009)

By Miki

January 1, 2009 - Posted by | Art, books, Cafe L'Arte, Cafe Literati, illustrations, Miki's Paintings, Miki's Tale Bubble Boy, painting, writing | , , , , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. At last!
    I really love the picture; it sets so well with the text. The whole piece has the feel of oriental fairy tale, more exotic than the home grown Western styles we are all used to that all somewhere seem to have grown from Grimm.
    I shall look forward to finding out about how the old man blows bubbles.
    Incidentally, bubble blowing is so relaxing; I have a big bottle of bubble mix in our freezing conservatory and when I feel stressed I go into the garden with it and put my woes in each bubble I blow and then watch it drift into the sky and then vanish. Funny, but it really tends to work.
    love,
    v

    Comment by viv66 | January 1, 2009

  2. Happy New Year, Viv! Beautiful comment.
    I think I will buy myself a bottle of bubble mix too, I remember having done that with deep pleasure! I wonder if they have this stuff in Spain.
    I hope it won’t deceive you, but Bubble Boy story won’t go on in Japan… I don’t even remember why I made it start there!
    And funny, Kevin says that my illustrations (except the two first ones) remind him Grimm!!!!! And even funnier, as i did these illustrations I had no idea how Grimm drawings look like!

    Comment by Miki | January 1, 2009

  3. Great beginning!! I’m already hooked and I can’t wait for the next installment of the story :))

    Happy 1st day of 2009!

    Comment by Bonny | January 1, 2009

  4. Myabe some things are simply lodged in our collective unconscious as almost foundations of things. I don’t know if you are a fan of Terry Pratchett, dear man that he is, but he wrote quite a bit in some of his Disc world novels about the power of story and how they develop a life of their own and insist on following well worn paths and plots. He really has a point, because I think our reactions to stories that don’t follow the well worn paths is quite telling.
    Incidentally, on my way back from France the other week, we watched “Enchanted” on the coach and I adored it, even though I don’t approve of Disney for many reasons.
    The fairytale is essential to our inner lives, and I’d like to study the deeper side of the genre “properly” one day.
    And a very happy new year to you all.

    Comment by viv66 | January 1, 2009

  5. If they don’t have bubble mix out there, let me know and I can send some!!

    Comment by viv66 | January 1, 2009

  6. I am so proud of you Miki today.
    You are an excellent story teller.
    I enjoyed reading the story.
    I loved the illustration.
    Combining the two is two gifts you have now together to please the reader and to entertain us joyfully and take us away from an otherwise cruel and harsh world out there.
    Well done and keep going.
    It only gets better, believe me.

    Comment by Michael | January 2, 2009

  7. Thanks so much everybody!

    Bonny, I guess you haven’t found it yet, but i said somewhere in a comments thread that i am publishing too the original version in German. I will add a link to it in each episode…

    Comment by Miki | January 2, 2009

  8. I’m over the moon to see Miki’s story finally arrive here! -and happy to read everyone’s supportive comments! Viv – I am a big Science fantasy fan, and have one Terry Pratchett novel, but I’ve never quite been able to get through it, and I don’t know why. If you’re very familiar with his work, which of them would you consider his best? P.S. He was recognised this year in the New Years honours I believe, wasn’t he?

    Comment by kevmoore | January 2, 2009

  9. […] Here we go! […]

    Pingback by Bubble Boy - 1 - « Infinity + some + 2 | January 2, 2009

  10. Re: Terry Pratchett.
    I met the man many years ago. I had escaped the home for the day, my daughter then aged 3ish had chicken pox and I had spent a hideous week at home with her and Nigel suggested I get away for the day on the Saturday, so I got the bus into our nearest city, which was then Nottingham. I wandered round for a while and then went into Waterstones the book shop only to find that Terry was doing a signing there. Since this was 16 years ago, he was famous but not stellar yet and the queue hadn’t begun to get big. I was number 3 in the queue. When my turn came, he stared at me, in some surprise and said, “I know you don’t I?”. Well, I grinned and said, “Your face is very familiar to me, too!” but that was because it was on the books. So we spent the next five minutes trying to work out where we had met before, even though I was bloody certain we hadn’t met at all. He gave me some good advice about agents and the like, signed my books and shook my hand and we said goodbye. Now, the funny thing was about a year or so later, when Lords and Ladies came out, various friends said to me, “Didn’t he meet you just before he wrote this?” because the young Esme Weatherwax appears and those who knew me back then all reckoned it was based on me! I realy like the guy, he has such warmth and gentleness and the complete gentleman about meeting his fans and chatting very patiently when he gets the same questions over and over again.
    Anyway, any of the Witches books are great and of the Watch series, my favourite is Nightwatch; it makes me cry!
    I was so pleased the Queen knighted him, especially when he can still enjoy and appreciate it. He was diagnosed last year with a form of Alzheimer’s Disease.

    Comment by viv66 | January 2, 2009

  11. I was pleased to, because, as you say, in interviews he seems such a gentleman, and I believe he is deeply involved in charities working to combat Alzheimers. I shall take your advice and check out Nightwatch, with a clean handkerchief standing by!
    Great story about your meeting, by the way!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 2, 2009

  12. […] (Bubble Boy – 1 -) […]

    Pingback by Bubble Boy -2 - « Café Crem | January 5, 2009

  13. […] Here we go! […]

    Pingback by Bubble Boy - 2 - « Infinity + some + 2 | January 5, 2009

  14. […] (Bubble Boy – 1 -) (Bubble Boy – 2 -) […]

    Pingback by Bubble Boy - 3 - « Café Crem | January 8, 2009

  15. I am so glad I found the beginning of Bubble Boy here. Since I have only lately returned to Cafe Crem, I noticed lots of conversation about it, and really cool illustrations, but felt completely lost. Now I have started at the beginning and love it!!!!! I used to voraciously consume fairy tales as a child, and you sure do have the tone down exactly. I also like the lovely poetic language.

    Comment by psychscribe | January 30, 2009

  16. bounjor je habit a tehran svp antande pour moi care crme informiton
    merci
    ali shahbazi

    Comment by ali | January 6, 2011


Leave a Reply

