Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

A Box of Dreams

A box of dreams

 

I packed my dreams away,

Deep in a faded chocolate box

Filled with precious memories,

Theatre programmes and broken beads.

I layered them with lavender

To keep away the cosmic moth

And I forgot I’d ever dreamed.

One night I rose from sleep,

Left my body warm in bed,

And crept up the hidden stair

To find the forgotten place

Where cobwebbed windows

Filtered moonlight onto dusty boards.

Amid the cracked records,

The rags of triumphal dresses

And other detritus of my life,

I heard the strangest sound,

Like stars singing in a frozen sky.

The box lay where I had left it,

And when I could bear to look inside,

Instead of shreds and tatters

I found treasures bright with starlight,

Memories gilded by the sun of years,

And my dreams as I had left them,

Untarnished and unworn by time

 

January 1, 2009 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, family, God in our life, life, love, personal, poetry, psychology, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Hi Viv. What a great poem. I am so glad that you have come to Cafe Crem to grace us with your creative works. I want you to feel great today because you deserve it. Keep on writing my friend because I will always read you.

    Comment by Michael | January 2, 2009

  2. Thank you Michael.
    I was enjoying your novel too, by the way, but it seems to have gone. Did you have second thoughts about it? It is terrifying to put stuff up, for strangers to read but I think people were enjoying the novel.
    I’m off to our nearest big city today to show one of my oldest friends the sites…and the shops. I shall light a candle at the cathedral for you, and all here at this cafe, and maybe even raise a coffee cup when we pause for a refreshment break. I wish my camera was fully working as I’d take some pictures, but the company hasn’t got back to me about the corrupt install disk yet…
    The above poem I wrote about two years back when I first began going to poetry readings and it’s been published both in the US(in New Mexico, which is absurd) and in England in the Cygnus review. It’s so easy to do what I did and lose site of our dreams, but they are never lost, not truly, just put somewhere to rest till we’re ready to look at them again.
    Is it still snowed under where you are? How are your bruises??

    Comment by viv66 | January 2, 2009

  3. Evokes such warm feelings Viv, bathing in the welcoming glow of nostalgia!

    Comment by kevmoore | January 2, 2009

  4. This is such a great poem! You have a strong sense for the right words and the right rhythm, and with them you create at once a deep and dense atmosphere, playing with the light and shadow of your soul… simply love it!

    Comment by Miki | January 2, 2009

  5. And what a lovely idea to present Cafe Crem to your friend. I so much wished you could have made photos… but we all have together a big future in front of us, here in Cafe Crem and Cafe Literati, and I am sure that at some point the camera will work again for you…

    Comment by Miki | January 2, 2009

  6. Yes, its a great idea Miki! – but I think Viv meant “sights” as opposed to “sites” 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | January 2, 2009

  7. Oops. I did mean sights! Having spent two summers corecting the written and spoken English of young people from over ten countries, I think I get muddled myself too these days!
    The camera works fine but the software fried my pc and we had to do total system restore, so I can’t upload any pictures yet. I have a beautiful shot of my cats and various other things, but locked on the camera’s memory.
    I am hoping to let various of my friends know about cafe crem as soon as I am settled back into my normal routine. I have friends who are writers, artists, sculptors and many others, who would probably enjoy it here…
    Had a great day in Norwich, and shall write more about the little charm I bought today…

    Comment by viv66 | January 2, 2009

  8. Ah, I thought it was probably Norwich cathedral you were visiting – a beautiful building.

    Comment by kevmoore | January 2, 2009


Leave a Reply

