Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Letting go(for Kev)

Letting Go

 

When a poem is written,

Released to be read,

It ceases to be mine alone.

Like a wayward child,

It speaks its mind

To all it encounters

And is changed forever:

I never meant that!

That’s not what I said.

Futile!

I gave it life,

Gave it wings,

And now must say goodbye.

It has its own life:

A purpose, a mission maybe.

And I, like every mother,

Wish it well, wave it off,

Shed a tear and hope at least

For a Christmas card

And flowers for Mother’s Day.

December 30, 2008 - Posted by | books, Cafe Literati, family, literature, love, personal, poetry, travel, Viv's Poetry, writing | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for that, Viv! “I never meant that! That’s not what I said. Futile!” – brings to mind the endless discussions in English lit. at school, when I ccouldn’t deal with the teacher’s view of this or that poem. “how do you KNOW, he meant that?” I would argue! Of course, as your poem so clearly states, once you’ve had your say and its in the public domain, they can pretty much do what the hell they want with it! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | December 30, 2008

  2. Wonderful, Viv, so well put, and so true… I think exactly the same with my paintings… they all are my babies, and once they are out there, I let them live their own life, and I really don’t care, on the contrary, if somebody sees in them something I didn’t put into them, at least not on purpose.
    Yes, they all get an own life, the words, the paintings, the music pieces… as soon as they are out and this is the wonderful thing of publishing!

    Comment by Miki | December 31, 2008


Leave a Reply

