Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Snapshot in Ice

Snapshot in ice

 

The world is frozen,

Every web edged in ice,

Occupant huddled under leaf

Awaiting a thaw.

Seedheads, candied in frost,

Return to brief flowering,

Coated in fragile crystal

So dense it seems furry.

Ferns are turned to fossils,

Chrysanthemums to pom-poms.

Even the air is frozen,

Full of microscopic ice.

Foghorns call across the miles,

Invisible as owls in the night,

And the sea, oblivious,

Crashes softly on the shore.

December 29, 2008 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, Christmas, Viv's Poetry | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Full of great imagery, Viv. Made me want to reach for a high-tog duvet!

    Comment by kevmoore | December 29, 2008

  2. Wow Viv this is like Kev said and I am already wrapped up in my duvet!!!

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | December 29, 2008

  3. I REALLY love tour poetry style, Viv and honestly, I don’t find often poetry which i love. Yours has some kind of mathematical metaphorical precision which at the same time let much room for the reader’s feelings and imagination. You are able to invade one soul’s and heart and brain with so few words, this is simply fabulous: each word touches me like a tap of a magic wand…
    And do you know what? I guess I will learn a lot of new English words with you! Today I had to ask Kevin about the words:
    huddle, thaw, furry, fern, pom-pom, oblivious

    Comment by Miki | December 30, 2008

  4. You are all very kind to me, I am deeply moved.
    I am a bit of bull in a china shop when it comes to new things; I rush at them and devour them to understand and absorb the newness and get a grip of what they are about and then I can use them. Needless to say, this works quite well with intellectual matters but not well at all with certain physical matters. I can’t dance no matter how I have tried and usually injure myself, as I was born with double and semi double joints. I’d run away to join the circus as the India rubber lady if arthritis hadn’t set in when I was 19!
    Miki, is German your first language? I speak a little German and am still in contact with my German penfriend from when i was 14/15. I am always so impressed by the ability of people in Europe to learn such good English skills when the majority of the English are very much the opposite and maybe learn a tiny bit at school and then forget it. My French is OK, but not brilliant due to lack of regular use.

    Comment by viv66 | December 30, 2008

  5. Very funny comment, Viv!

    No, German is not my first language. French is. But I went to live and study in Germany as I was 19 years old, and I started writings some years later there. this is why I automatically started in German.And this although I really didn’t control it at all, having learnt English and Latin at school in France. As i went to Germany I did not speak ONE word German… it was hard… and everybody in my environment there was speaking either English or French, so I really had to fight against myself to learn German.
    Where does your penfriend live in Germany?

    Comment by Miki | December 30, 2008

  6. Hey reading all the comments is exciting afterglow of a post and I did not anticipate this. Wonderful.

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | December 30, 2008

  7. I’m feeling rather hyper right now, but a couple of things to answer questions.
    First, to Miki, my penfriend lives near Marburg. When I said I was likely to come to Germany for the Christmas markets, she wrote that I only needed one word of German to get by for that….Gluhwein!
    Second, then I am triply impressed by your linguistic ability, Miki. I write postcards in poor French but write something truly creative and lovely (as i can see Bubble Boy must be) in a language not my own…is gobsmackingly impressive.
    Third, Thank you Michael for being the person to take the time to invite me here. If we can have some good fun and explore the world, here, that’s a fabulous thing.
    Finally, the Vampires didn’t want me today. Turns out that the biopsy I had last month means(because of new EU directives) that I can’t give blood for six months. It all comes of the fact that(and I kid you not) the hysteroscope is notoriously difficult to sterlise and they have to wait six months to be sure I didn’t catch HIV or hepatitis from an insufficiently cleaned instrument. Can you believe it? The hospital mentioned none of this while they were playing merry hell with my body. Ha!

    Comment by viv66 | December 30, 2008


Leave a Reply

