Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Dangerous Age

Dangerous Age

 

I’m at a dangerous age:

Too old to be young,

Too young to be old.

Women like me straddle extremes,

A foot planted squarely on each.

I might do anything:

Run away to Bali,

Find adventure or a vocation,

Or stay home, learn bridge

And buy a shopping trolley.

I’m not done being young yet;

I’m not ready to exchange

My running shoes for slippers,

I’m not ready to cut my hair,

Colour away the silver threads

And save up for Botox.

I’m at a dangerous age:

Are you ready for this?

 

December 29, 2008 - Posted by | Cafe Literati, Viv's Poetry | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. What I love so much in your poems so far, Viv, is the natural and very straightforward way you express your feelings and your inner rebellion. It really explodes out of the words, even the spaces between are filled with energy which screams to be freed! Simply great!

    Comment by Miki | December 29, 2008

  2. Thank you.
    I’m a recycled teenager; never bothered rebelling back then but nowawdays, say black when I’m in that sort of mood and I’ll say white out of sheer cussedness.
    I was NOT the typical English rector’s wife and it annoyed the hell out of a lot of people but amused plenty of others.
    I’m avoiding posting the really black stuff yet and trying to stick to the light and amusing.
    Good to be here!

    Comment by viv66 | December 29, 2008

  3. Viv, you don’t need to avoid anything here in Cafe Crem!
    I will be very interested in your “really black stuff” too, this is for sure. I have spent myself many years in an almost total darkness, and got used to it… I’m a big girl now (I’m sure that Kevin here will say that in fact, I am a tiny little thing…), it does not scare me any more 🙂

    Comment by Miki | December 30, 2008

  4. I shall then. I try and avoid this as it tends to be too self indulgent in certain ways, and can almost seem to glorify the dark side. I have a saying, that I have endured the dark night so long I am becoming nocturnal….but it isn’t really true. If I can find ways of laughing at the dark, that’s good.

    Comment by viv66 | December 30, 2008

  5. Miki is indeed a tiny little thing, but she’s not scared of anything! (Although the Dark Knight she endured was the new Batman movie…)

    Comment by kevmoore | December 30, 2008

  6. You know, Viv, many people have or had this dark stuff within themselves, and it always help to meet people who speak about it.
    Shadow and Light are basic elements of nature, and as such should never be considered as taboo. I kind of hate the modern hystery of having to appear positive and happy, always. The best way to provoke the Dark Side of Life, and to never get out of it again, is to try to hide or ignore it, I believe… In Spain they have the bloody habit to tell a woman:
    “smile! You look ugly if you don’t smile!”_
    and really, they don’t miss an occasion to say it.

    I am much more from the sort to affront my enemy, and things like words, colours, musics notes are certainly my favourite weapons…

    Comment by Miki | December 30, 2008

  7. You are quite right , of course, Miki, but I recall speaking of dark and light to one NewAge acquaintance only to be told that duality was an illusion and I was wrong to believe that dark existed. I have a bit of a problem with conflict to be honest. Despite looking rather like an errant Viking, I very rarely lose my temper and get angry with people. I’ll give you an example. During the intense summer season, I had a colleague criticize me to my face in quite unpleasant terms. In another universe, I punched her in the face and carried on, but in this one, I merely thanked her (somewhat acerbically) for her comment and left the staffroom, resisted the impulse to slam the door(the handle tends to fall off!) and went to get my class sorted, before heading to the loos for a private sob, and phoning my boss to see if someone could cover my trip that afternoon because I wasn’t up to it. My boss, being nice, got out of me what was wrong, and was very kind, but even now, I can’t think or see that colleague without wondering when she’s going to have a shot at hurting me again. This was someone who I have helped quite a lot and been endlessly supportive to, but my inability to react appropriately bothers me.I think my upbringing has a lot to do with it all; my brother could goad me beyond belief but if I ever reacted and hit back, guess who was in trouble??
    As for the smile thing, I have heard of it from some of my Spanish students, and I’d take a very dim view of it myself.
    I don’t ever hide the fact that I suffer very badly from depression, but I don’t want this to ever become ME more than the ME that is. I call it my Black Dog, same as Churchill did, or even my guardian, as the gifts from the dark are profound and valuable.

    Comment by viv66 | December 30, 2008

  8. Dark and light are a duality. Dualities abound everywhere in nature and in human life. “How can one know better, or beauty, or appreciation, or love, unless one has known profound sadness.”

    Comment by Michael Pokocky | December 30, 2008


Leave a Reply

