Café Crem

Art, Music and Words around The Coffee Table

Wishing Stars

I know…I’ve posted my coffee cup nebula here already. But I wrote a little poem for it today!

Some say my coffee obsession
has gone too far.
I say–Why can’t a coffee cup
be a shining star?

I’d make wishes in the morning and
wishes in the night.
Cups could be my wishing stars
to make the future bright.

I finally looked at my pics from the art show. The folks at Digital Arts Studio did a very nice job hanging my art:

My family came to see me:

A cup similar to these is on it’s way to Miki right now! I’m so excited!

~Shelley

December 8, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Cafe L'Arte, coffee, drawing, family, friends, painting, poetry, Shelley's Creations | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Lovely pictures, Shelley! – great to see your family there in support – and we’re so excited about the cups, too! Nice to see your poem here. I got a bit inspired this evening to write a daft Christmassy short story which I’ll post on here soon…

    Comment by kevmoore | December 9, 2008

  2. Thanks, Kev! I look forward to reading your story.

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 9, 2008

  3. Beautiful everything Shelley!
    And indeed, “why can’t a coffee cup be a shining start?” yours will be shining stars in our home, be sure!

    And how touching to see your family, and your art show. They really did a great job there.
    A lovely idea to show us all this… I love it so much when Cafe Cremers become personal….

    And of course, I especially love the photo with the Nebula cups… if they were the bigger version of the mugs, I would grasp one and declare:
    “That’s my!”
    would be much faster than to wait for the one arriving from the U.S.A. But on the other side, imagining your/my mug travelling all the way from there is part of the fun…

    It is 9h30 AM right now in Spain, I am having a coffee with milk in Susan’s cup
    “Dancing on Stars”
    and I say “cheers” to you Shelley, and a big big
    “Thank you!”

    Comment by Miki | December 9, 2008

  4. Wow, Shelley, nice photos and nice colors on your gallery walls. Nice to see you with your family!

    Expat 21

    Comment by expat21 | December 9, 2008

  5. Good morning, Miki and Expat! Yes, it is rare that I show family photos. But this whole experience has been oddly personal. Showing my art and writing up on the wall was like displaying my insides for all to see. I was a bit relieved I didn’t get too many questions at the show.

    Miki, I imagine your cup is flying over the ocean right about now–a very long trip. Didn’t someone here post a cup with wings?

    Comment by shelleymhouse | December 9, 2008

  6. Hi Shelley. You say,”I say–Why can’t a coffee cup
    be a shining star?”
    I say,”…why not [all the coffee cups] be a new galaxy. Then you will have added a conundrum to physics. They sciences have always been separate from the humanities, and I see signs and know of ideas where art and science are coming together. One inspires the other. Its true.

    Great post of family, work, and your public effort of coming out and being radically authentic. Up to now I did not know much about you.

    Thanks / Michael

    Comment by Michael | December 12, 2008

  7. Yes, this is what I so specially love by Shelley: her authenticity. In everything she does and writes.

    Comment by Miki | December 12, 2008


Leave a Reply

